Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find NAICS Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
By finding the NAICS code for your industry, you can easily search for the industry in library databases as well as online.
Industry Research Resources
BizMiner offers granular industry statistical reports that provide industry financial analysis benchmarks for more than 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Business Monitor International
More than 900 industry and country reports by BMI are available via ProQuest. Search the Advanced Search screen with BMI("business monitor international") to limit results.
Business Source Complete
The scholarly business database offers a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. This is a great database to get a company SWOT analysis and information from trade publications in addition to market reports, peer-reviewed journal articles, and industry profiles.
The database offers a comprehensive list of competitors in any given industry or sub-industry.
Frost & Sullivan
Provides in-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of emerging technologies in the areas of Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials, and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation.
IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for more than 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China and Canada. Reports include industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics.
Statista offers a wealth of statistics on most industries, on diverse business topics, and digital markets in visual and easy-to-use formats with option of exporting to such PNG, Excel, and PPT formats. The database also offers statistics on major countries around the globe.
Keep track of what is being written about your indusry, competitors, trends and opportunities. Media coverage can be a great source of most recent information for even the smallest or niche industries.
Full-text online service for national and international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Contains thousands of newspapers, newswires, legal cases, patents, and trade journals.
The Market Share Reporter and the World Market Share Reporter provide this type of data for many industries. These publications can be found electronically through Business & Company Resource Center or in print (HF5410 M34 and HF5410 W92, respectively, in Ready Reference).