A Research Guide for VTPMD 6181: Public Health Practice – Assessment: Where to Search for Public Health Resources

MEDLINE is a bibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information compiled by the US National Library of Medicine. It is searchable by PubMed, which includes MEDLINE as well as additional literature in biomedicine. MEDLINE can be searched using PubMed.

CAB Abstracts covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of nutrition, agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. Global Health, searched simultaneously, Global Health is a specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research.

This is a premier database for the literature in nursing and allied health. It provides some unique methodological indexing terms for qualitative research, not found in MEDLINE.

The World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), produces this international index to African health literature and information sources.

Citation database of Chinese journals published in China. The journals are categorized under ten series which include topics in medicine & public health (Series E) (make sure the box for Series E is checked when you search this).

A database with a Japan focus that can be used to search information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database and databases.

LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.

A bibliographic database and digital library of open access journals with a focus on literature published in developing countries, primarily in South America.

Find more sources for Latin America and the Caribbean here, beyond LILACS and SciELO.

Covers agriculture, agricultural products, animal science, aquatic science, fisheries, feed science, food science, human nutrition and rural sociology. In Jan. 1, 2007, Agricola began indexing a significantly smaller number of journals than in the past.

Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Science, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology.

Provides access to abstracts of the world’s food science, food technology, and food-related human nutrition literature. Coverage is 1969 to date and includes journals, patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards and legislation.

GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbrith, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.

POPLINE, the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database. POPLINE provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.

ABI Inform is an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles.

Provides full text for scholarly business journals and a variety of other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Coverage dates as far back as 1922.

Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Web of Science is an integrated platform of multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information including Science, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities Citation Indexes. It is also a citation database that allows cited reference searching to determine works that have cited a particular article or author.

AgeLine® focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.

Covering economic theory and history, fiscal theory, econometrics, agricultural economics, public finance, demography, monetary theory, international economics and others.

The PAIS International database from CSA contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Subjects include administration of justice, business, economics, government, human rights, labor conditions and policy, and social conditions.

Contains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.

A comprehensive list of free public health databases.