Creating Lists of Companies
These are some of the core resources that will let you create a list of companies that match criteria you specify (such as where they are located, their indusries, size, etc.).
- Mergent IntellectMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
- Leadership ConnectFormerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.
- UniworldThe authoritative source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch [sic]. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States--Introductory page. Databases may be searched by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue and number of employees. Search results can be viewed in HTML and printed, or downloaded into Microsoft Excel.
- Foundation DirectoryUse to create a list of public and private foundations in the U.S.
- Capital IQA unique platform combing detailed information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services, and brokerage. Available in Johnson, Nestle, Mann and Catherwood libraries.
- GuideStar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration
Salary Information
ERI's Salary Accessor allows you to search by occupation, size of company, years of experience, and location. Available in the ILR Library, the Nestle Library, and on computer 10 in the Management Library.
Salary Wizard, from The Wall Street Journal.
Occupational Outlook Handbook, by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, presents career description for Management, Scientific, and Technical Consulting Services which includes salary overviews.