Fiber Science & Apparel Design Resources: Databases

Part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, this database provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time (1600 to date) and by place (click on world map).

Textile Technology Index, is designed to serve academic institutions and libraries by providing extensive coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. First published in 1944, as the Institute of Textile Technology's Textile Technology Digest, the collection traces the body of knowledge in textile science and technology as far back as the 1800's. The Textile Technology Index contains indexing and abstracting for over 400 periodical titles, and for thousands of titles drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports, and trade literature. Extensive and thorough coverage is given to subjects such as manufacturing techniques, textile end products, chemicals and dyes, the properties of natural and synthetic fibers and yarns, environmental issues, and the related areas of chemistry, biology, and physics.

Web-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Includes the Compendex database. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Coverage is 1969 to date.

An expanded version of SocINDEX, including greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive coverage encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.”

Contains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.