Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Funding: Research Funding Databases & Websites

A brief overview of federal, state and foundation grant funding sources. Useful for anyone at Cornell, including Cooperative Extension staff.

Recommended Research Grants & Fellowships Databases

Federal Government

Grants.gov

Grants.gov

Guide to funding from various U.S. government agencies, including

  • NEH
  • Institute of Peace
  • NASA
  • Department of Education
  • National Science Foundation

New York State

New York State grants gateway

New York State Grants Gateway

Provides one-stop shopping for anyone interested in locating grant funding opportunities with State agencies.

  • Browse a list of funding opportunities
  • Search for info about a particular funding opportunity 
  • Register for automatic notifications of upcoming funding opportunities.

Private Foundations and Corporations (plus Federal)

Foundation Directory Online Professional

The Foundation Center Directory Online Professional contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.  Free to CCE through Mann Library services.

Foundation Directory Tutorial Webinar Recording:  2012 Webinar Recording:  learn how to use the FOundation Directory to find Grant Makers and Grants for your CCE programs.

Grant Forward

Grant Forward

Grant Forward:  has a mix of funding sources:  state, federal, foundation, academic, and more.  Cornell subscribes to this, and you can create a free institutional account that allows you to set up a personal profile and save searches, which you can't do in Foundation Directory.  There are QuickTips, CaseStudies, and a Researcher Welcome Guide.

Cornell's Office of Sponsored Programs has created a Cornell-specific guide to Grant Forward:  https://www.osp.cornell.edu/Funding/Grant-Forward-Cheat-Sheet-final.pdf.