Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Questions? Contact Jim Morris-Knower at firstname.lastname@example.org
There are three main places to look for grant funding outside of Cornell: the US government, state government, and private foundations and corporations. While there are many resources out there for finding this funding, this guide points you to the major tool for each funding source. Federal grants=Grants.gov; NYS grants=New York State Grants Gateway; and foundations=Foundations Directory. Note that more and more recently, the Foundation Directory is indexing federal grants. In addition, GrantForward indexes both federal and private/corporate funding sources.
In addition to those 4 traditional sources of funding, you may be interested in exploring the possibilities for crowd funding.
Here are a few broader overviews of funding resources available online and in print:
A Guide to Federal and New York State Funding
From U.S. Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand, a guide to navigating the process of locating federal and NY state grants.
Grants & Fellowships in the Humanities & Social Sciences
From the Cornell Library. While targeted to faculty and students looking for research support in the humanities and social sciences, this very comprehensive guide will be useful to anyone wanting to know the range of resources available in any field.
Einaudi Center Faculty Funding Opportunities
The center maintains a searchable database of faculty funding opportunities for international research support from foundations and agencies. It includes on-campus funding opportunities for international studies faculty and visiting scholars which is mainly addressed to scholars and faculty at other institutions seeking to expand their research interests through the use of Cornell's research facilities and interaction with students and faculty here.
Cornell Graduate School
The Cornell Graduate School maintains a database of over 700 fellowships and other forms of research support.
Other Tips for Finding Funding
- Scan the acknowledgement sections of journal articles, presentations or monographs in your field.
- Your field most likely has a professional society--sign up for their newsletter. These newsletters often include funding opportunity information.
For non-US grant seekers, and for those looking for grant funders outside the US, these resources may be helpful. Note--the Foundation Directory does include international funders, but not comprehensively.
Cornell Graduate Students