About
Quechua, Kichwa, and Runa Simi (Runa Shimi) is a family of related languages spoken primarily in the Andean highlands of Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador and some neighboring countries in South America. Quechua was a central language in the Inca Empire and is still spoken by 8 to 10 million people in Indigenous communities of contemporary South America. On this tab, you can find several reference sources on Quechua language at Cornell.
Reference Sources
Diccionario Quechua interdialectal trilinguë de Bolivia, Ecuador, y Perú en Quechua, Inglés, y Español by Call Number: PM6303 .M67 2016Publication Date: 2016
Bolivian Quechua Reader and Grammar-Dictionary by Call Number: PM6305 .C7 1986ISBN: 0897200802Publication Date: 1986-01-01- Diccionario bilingüe quechua-castellano, castellano-quechua by Call Number: PM6306 .M36 2006Publication Date: 2006
- La lengua quechua: Texto de morfología quechua by Call Number: PM6303 .H83 2015Publication Date: 2015
- Diccionario huanca quechua-castellano castellano-quechua by Call Number: PM6306 .R15 2018Publication Date: 2018
- Qhichwa simipirwa: Diccionario Quechua by Call Number: Oversize PM6306 .Q45 2018 +Publication Date: 2018
Databases & Digital Collections
- Hapi OnlineHAPI Online contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials from 1970 to the present.
- HLAS onlineThe online Handbook of Latin American Studies is a searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences and humanities.
- Kichwa NetAn online Kichwa learning resource that includes digital courses, videos, dictionaries and other language learning tools.
- Biblioteca Indiana (Proyecto Estudios Indianos)This digital library includes books and manuscripted related to Latin American history, literature, and culture during the Colonial Period. Countries most often covered include México, Perú, and Chile.
- Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraThe Latin American Ephemera Collection contains thousands of digitized pamphlets, brochures, flyers, posters, placards and other printed items created since around the last quarter of the 20th century by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities.