Reference Sources
- Sage KnowledgeThis database searches across a number of reference encyclopedias, guides and handbooks published by Sage. Includes many policy-related encyclopedias and handbooks, such as Health care policy and politics A to Z, among many others.
- Encyclopedia of public administration and public policyNow in its third edition, Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy remains the definitive source for article-length presentations spanning the fields of public administration and public policy. Try broad topic terms or scan the Table-of-Contents. If there is an entry that relates to your topic, you will be off to a good start!
- Federal Regulatory Directory"Regulation is today the dominant form of domestic policy, and the regulatory process is the chosen method of policy making." [From the Introduction]
Guides "....readers through the intricacies of the federal agencies and regulation. Offering both a directory of contacts for economic, environmental, safety, health, and other regulatory agencies as well as a discussion of how each agency regulates policies and programs...." [Preface] - Congressional Research Service (CRS) reportsI can't say enough about how valuable these CRS reports are. Check them out. You'll be glad you did.
To find more encyclopedias, reference guides, and handbooks, use the Advanced Search in the library catalog.
- Enter a broad subject term, e.g. "drug policy" on the first line.
- On the next line, enter these terms -- encyclopedia dictionary handbook -- and use from the pull-down menu to select [any] to indicate any of these terms.
- From the list of results, Limit Your Search to "online."
How to do Public Policy
How to Do Public Policy by Publication Date: 2022-10-03Part I of the book presents the basic analytical concepts needed to understand the policy process and the structures and dynamics involved in it,as well as to understand how and why actors behave the way they do-and how to engage with different types of actors.
Part II moves further into the nuts and bolts of policy-making, including policy design, implementation, and evaluation.
Part III introduces and explores three key aspects of the capacity to make good policies: engagement with stakeholders, the process of policy coordination in a context of interdependence, and the role of institutions.
