NYS Teachers Summer Institute: Slow Food/Fast Food: Encyclopedias

Subject Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia of food and culture Online access on campus only. Also available in print.

Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society. Entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America On Campus only.

Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.

Sage eReference On Campus only.

A database of 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences, including such areas as African American studies, anthropology, communication and media studies, economics, education, gender & sexuality studies, history, politics, psychology, social issues, social work & social policy, and sociology.

Cornell has a number of titles in the Food Culture Around the World series, which are held in several Cornell Libraries other than Olin, including Mann Library and the Hotel Library. Check individual titles for location and status information.Click image to retrieve series information.

Shortcut:

For a quick search of articles in online encyclopedias, try this: 

From the library home page, click on the articles button in the search box, then select encyclopedia articles from the pull-down list. Enter your search terms in the search box to search.