Communication Encyclopedias
- International Encyclopedia of Communication OnlineThe online version of a 12-volume reference spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Arrangement of 1,400 newly-commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas. Updated several times a year.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information by Call Number: Mann P87.5 .E53x 2001Olin Reference Oversize P87.5 .E53x 2002
ISBN: 0028653866Broad coverage: information technologies (radio, television, Internet); interpersonal communication; media effects; information and communication careers; literacy; and information science.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences by Call Number: Law Reference: H41 .I58x 2001Olin Reference: H41 .I58x 2001 +
ISBN: 0080430767Comprehensive online (and print) reference work covers the current state of the social and behavioral sciences with an international scope.
Library Catalog
The first step in the process is exploring the topic. It's often useful to get look at overviews or background on your subject before you jump into searching for more specific research articles. Books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and overview sites and sources can all help you with this. Start at the Cornell University Library Catalog.
- Basic search: Enter a very general keyword search in the main search box.
- Using the links on the left hand side, narrow your search to books.
- When you find anything useful click on the title and find the subject headings on the left.
- Click on the linked subject heading to find everything about that particular subject listed in the catalog. You can also re-search using the subject headings in Advanced Search.
- You can also narrow your search to certain date ranges or languages.