Finding Statistics
Statistics are published on the web and in print publications. Publishers include the federal government, state governments, foreign governments, international agencies, private entities, and membership organizations. Recording of statistics is sometimes mandated by law, but in other instances, it is entirely voluntary. Even required government statistics often change over the years. Statistics are not always published and raw data and data sets are not always accessible. Finally, there may be hefty fees for some statistics!
The best strategy for finding statistics is to identify the stakeholders (governments, companies, organizations) and do a thorough search of their publications and Internet pages. The resources below are good places to start you statistical research.
- Data & Reproduction Archive (Cornell Center for Social Science)The Cornell Center for Social Science (CCSS) houses the Data & Reproduction Archive, started by the former Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER) in 1982. This extensive data collection emphasizes political and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, and economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers.
- Data.govExcellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.
- Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM)A major portal for U. S. government statistics. The FCSM compiles, assesses, and disseminates information on statistical or survey methods and practices for Federal statistical agencies.
- International Statistical AgenciesComprehensive list by country, compiled by the U. S. Census Bureau. NOTE: Scroll to bottom of web page for the list.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightProvides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data begins in 2013. For historical data, see separate listing, hosted by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- StatistaStatista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- U.S. Data and StatisticsFind data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- Wolfram AlphaEnter your question or calculation, and Wolfram|Alpha uses its built-in algorithms and a growing collection of data to compute the answer.
Historical Statistics
- Employment Research Data Center (W.E. Upjohn Institute)The Upjohn Institute serves as the data repository for many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Data from these projects (along with specific information related to the data) and final reports are offered via download at no charge.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Millenial Online EditionThis is a comprehensive collection of tables with hard-to-find historical statistics. Find stats on workers and immigrants. Also available in print.
- Publications of the U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsFind scanned copies of BLS catalogs that list BLS publications from 1886-1998. Full text of the publications described in the catalogs can be found in U. S. libraries as well as in some historical subscription databases.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)Find a wide range of government-produced statistical tables from 1789-2012. Be sure to look at the tables' footnotes for find the recording agency. After 2013, data published as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S., listed separately.
Trade Unions in Western Europe since 1945 by Call Number: ILR Reference HD6657 .E335 2000; accompanying CD-Rom.ISBN: 1561592447Publication Date: 2000-11-11This reference traces the evolution of trade unions in Europe over the later half of the 20th Century. It provides a country overview of the union movement, chronologies, and membership tables. Use the accompanying CD-ROM to create custom spreadsheets from the wealth of data in the handbook.- U. S. Union Sourcebook: Membership, Structure, Finance, Directory byCall Number: ILR Reference HD6508 .T86 1985ISBN: 0961392304Publication Date: 1985-02-01Contains tables that describe individual labor unions and the labor movement from 1897-1985. This is a unique compilation with a wealth of information.
- Social ExplorerOnline research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Create fast, intuitive, and illustrative maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Site currently includes data from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey to 2008, original Census tract-level estimates for 2006 and 2007, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000, and 2002 Carbon Emissions Data from the Vulcan Project.