Data and Statistical Sources: Labor and Employment: HR Statistics

The Cornell Center for Social Science (CCSS) houses the Data & Reproduction Archive, started by the former Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER) in 1982. This extensive data collection emphasizes political and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, and economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers.

Excellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.

A major portal for U. S. government statistics. The FCSM compiles, assesses, and disseminates information on statistical or survey methods and practices for Federal statistical agencies.

Comprehensive list by country, compiled by the U. S. Census Bureau. NOTE: Scroll to bottom of web page for the list.

Enter your question or calculation, and Wolfram|Alpha uses its built-in algorithms and a growing collection of data to compute the answer.

To find out which companies are the best for HR management, Workforce editors and researchers created a statistical formula to sift through publicly available data on HR performance to separate the best from the rest. The result is the Workforce 100 list.

Provides different lists for the best places to work for various categories.

A new ranking list from an insider's guide.

The list provides information about the policies and practices that make these companies great.

Best places to work for gay, lesbian, or bisexual people.

From the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the Baldridge Performance Excellence Program aims to "to improve the competitiveness and performance of U.S. organizations for the benefit of all U.S. residents." This site provides information on the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award, which recognizes U.S. companies for their achievements in quality and business performance. A profile of winners is also available.

Click on company links to see why they are listed.

See Fortune's other important company rankings, including "Most Powerful Women", the "Fortune 500", "World's Most Admired Companies", "The World's 50 Greatest Leaders", and "100 Fastest-Growing Companies".

EBRI promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

Restricted access to loaded software from ILR Library Reference workstation; ask at ILR Reference Desk for assistance.
Has salary and cost of living information.

Compare the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. and International cities. Provides state tax tables. Crime indexes for 500 cities. Interstate moving costs. Insurance premium estimates. Mortgage recommendations. Compute loan amount for which you may qualify. Plan your move with a custom timeline. Other interesting information, including a Salary Calculator, for planning a move.

Recommended site for finding authoritative and current information on U.S. pay and benefits. The BLS has various surveys that report on employee compensation. They are described on this site.

Salary.com is an online compensation information for individuals, business managers and human resource professionals. Salary information is available through compensation surveys and the Salary Wizard, Salary.com's compensation tool. In addition to compensation data, editorial content on compensation advice, negotiation tactics and news specific to the compensation marketplace are also provided.