Labor and Working Class History: Indexes and Bibliographies

Volume 1 contains a listing of trade unions and their publications. It also contains a brief chronology for the unions listed. Volumes 2 and 3 contain a subject listing to point to individual articles in trade union publications. The time period covered is 1850-1941.

This print index covers labor union and labor-related literature for important years in the mid-20th century.

This book lists labor union publications from the AFL and the CIO. It includes local publications. You can also find other types of publications that were of interest to the labor movement.

The pamphlet lists labor union publication titles as well as other publication titles of interest to the labor movement. In addition, there is limited international coverage. The time period is the 1920s.

This publication lists the U.S. labor union publications that were held in CIRL libraries in the early 1950s. It is a good source for accurate publication titles. For current holdings information, however, you must search the individual libraries' catalogs or a comprehensive catalog such as WorldCat.

"Civil rights" in this work is understood in a broad sense, and encompasses activism in support of rights of a wide range of groups and issues, from political reform to health issues to labor. The bibliographic suggestions accompanying each biographical essays are quite extensive and list works by the featured activist and other biographical sources. Includes material on such labor activists and labor advocates as Kate Barnard, Ella Reeve Bloor, Elizabeth Gurley Flynn, Emma Goldman, Coretta Scott King, Luisa Moreno, Rose Harriet Pastor Stokes, Emma Tenayuca, and Addie Wyatt. It is complemented by an in-depth index.

A very thorough bibliography and the obligatory starting point for every bibliographic search on labor and working class history. Entries are grouped by time period and then by industrial sectors. Includes articles, books, and dissertations.

This bibliography of the African National Congress is very extensive and includes primary sources as well as books, articles, dissertations, government reports, and audiovisual media. Entries are briefly annotated. Includes a subject index.

Aimed at comprehensiveness, it gathers scholarly and popular books on French social and labor history written between 1600 and 1969. A number of influential articles are also included. Most works are in the French language. Separate sections contains bibliographies and a list of periodicals. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, and the lack of annotations or a subject index makes the consultation of this bibliography difficult.

This bibliography was the first substantial research tool to be published in Latin American labor studies. It is made up of a section where works are grouped by subject matter, and a section in which works are listed by country. The scope is broad: the bibliography covers all sectors of the economy and all the major aspects of work and labor relations issues.

This is a broadly comprehensive bibliography that encompasses all areas relating to work and the work environment, from unions to legislation to personnel management. Planned as an exhaustive listing of quality academic works and primary sources, it is particularly useful for the broad range of types of materials it includes. Manuscripts, books, pamphlets, theses, periodical literature, and government documents and publications are listed in separate sections and then subdivided by area of study (working conditions, unions, and the like). Within each topic materials are listed chronologically, from 1850 to 1975.

The only book of its kind in the field of Afro-American labor studies, this introductory reference surveys the diverse field of Afro-American labor literature from the end of the Civil War to the present. Over ninety percent of the 583 entries have been annotated. Much of the material has been cross-indexed and categorized according to its central focus and approach to the study of Black labor. The bibliography derives its material primarily from books, pamphlets, government documents, dissertations, and privately funded or sponsored studies. Because of the diverse methodological and philosophical approaches to the topic of Black labor, this volume encompasses a variety of related topics, such as employment, legal studies, trade unions, and women.

Use these catalogs to find historical publications from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. These publications provide a wealth of historical and current data on the U. S. labor environment, as well as selected information on non-U. S. countries.

Browse the series index to find bibliographies on William D. Haywood, Sidney Hillman, John L. Lewis, Sacco and Vanzetti, and the Mooney case, by Peter Chobianian.

This is an extensive bibliographical and historiographical essay, that surveys historical accounts, scholarly studies, statistical compilations, official documents, and contemporary literature, as well as collections of primary source materials. It covers the period 1895-1949. The titles analyzed in the essay are listed alphabetically by author in the "Selected Bibliography" at the end of the volume.

This listing gathers historical works, government reports, bibliographies, and newspaper articles on international labor migrations, mostly on immigration to the United States from all over the world. It consists of one non-annotated listing in alphabetical order by author, thus making it hard to locate specific items of interest easily.

A brief bibliography that focuses on Mexican women factory workers in Mexico and in the United States. Includes articles and reports on migrant workers, industrialization programs, and international trade.

The first separately published bibliography, partially annotated, of Thomas J. Mooney, a molder and labor agitator, who was wrongly accused and convicted of a 1916 San Francisco bomb explosion which led to a trial of international proportions that is referred to as "America's Dreyfus Case."

Bibliography is located in the "Bulletin of Bibliography" Volume 43 (1986), pages 108-113.

Lists scholarly and union materials, mostly out of print monographs, and also dissertation and articles. Grouped by historical period, then by subject areas, then by industrial sector, the items somewhat overlap to make access easier. The entries are arranged alphabetically.

A compilation of books and scholarly articles on one of the most famous and relevant to labor history of the New Deals programs, the Works Progress Administration (later the Works Projects Administration). Newspaper articles, congressional documents, and original documents are not included, but a few archival guides are listed. It spans works published since the implementation of the WPA to the 1970s. It is complemented by appendices with dissertations and names of WPA administrators, and by an author index.

This very extensive annotated bibliography gathers books, articles, thesis, pamphlets, government documents, miscellaneous historical writings, and works of fiction. Includes an introductory historical essay, a chronology, and an index of authors and subjects. A must for students of the IWW.

At the time of compilation of this catalog, the library of the Department of Labor was the oldest, largest, and most complete of its kind. Arranged in dictionary form, this catalog is a reproduction of about 500,000 author/title and subject catalog cards, interfiled in alphabetical order. Since the publication of the catalog part of the library holdings have been dispersed among various institutions, but the catalog is still very useful as a reference tool, because it includes many less-known old books, pamphlets, and foreign language materials.

An update of an earlier edition, this bibliography aims at exhaustiveness in covering scholarly works on the history of labor in Québec, understood broadly as the history of workers and the attitudes of employers, the government, the church, and society at large toward them. It is divided into five sections: articles, books, theses, audio and audio-video materials, and newspaper/union journals. In addition, it includes reports, brochures, and ephemera. An author and a thematic index provide further access to the materials.