Labor and Working Class History: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

This reference traces the evolution of trade unions in Europe over the later half of the 20th Century. It provides a country overview of the union movement, chronologies, and membership tables. Use the accompanying CD-ROM to create custom spreadsheets from the wealth of data in the handbook.

This reference work provides material never before gathered in a single volume. The scholarship is solid, and the text is a delight to read. Unlike most dictionaries, this one should be read from cover to cover. Recommended for all academic and public libraries. Choice

The first comprehensive reference book on radicalism in the United States from the Civil War to the present, this work fills serious gaps in basic reference materials on American politics, labor, and culture by focusing on radicals rather than reformers. Merging previously unutilized sourcessuch as oral history with the wealth of insight available from feminist, ethnic, racial studies and popular culture analysis as well as traditional scholarly approaches, their efforts retrieved a hitherto inaccesible history.

This comprehensive encyclopedia is a detailed collection of historical research on strikes in America. Each industry essay introduces a group of workers and their employers and places them in their economic, political, and community contexts. The essay then describes the industry's various strikes, including the main issues involved and outcomes achieved, and assesses the impact of the strikes on the industry over time. Thematic essays address questions that can only be answered by looking at a variety of strikes across industries, groups of workers, and time.

Provides sweeping coverage of US labor history. Containing over 650 entries, the Encyclopedia encompasses labor history from the colonial era to the present. Articles focus on states, regions, periods, economic sectors and occupations, race-relations, ethnicity, and religion, concepts and developments in labor economics, environmentalism, globalization, legal history, trade unions, strikes, organizations, individuals, management relations, and government agencies and commissions. Labor history is also considered in its representation in film, music, literature, and education. Important articles cover the perception of working-class culture, such as the surge in sympathy for the working class following September 11, 2001.

This irregular publication from the BLS contained tables on Unions and Industrial Relations. The 1967 Handbook contained information on union density by state and industry, type of employer bargaining units (single, multiemployer, etc.), work stoppages, NLRB cases, etc.. In recent years, the Handbook of Labor Statistics continues as a Bernan publication. (Description based on 1967 edition.)

From Acadians to Zoroastrians-Asians, American Indians, East Indians, West Indians, Europeans, Latin Americans, Afro-Americans, and Mexican Americans--the Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups provides the first comprehensive and systematic guide to the history, culture, and distinctive characteristics of the more than 100 ethnic groups who live in the United States.

This dictionary is designed to make the industrial vocabulary of earlier eras understandable and accessible to contemporary investigation. It brings together in one place a great deal of information that has been widely scattered in obscure places. The specialized language of the shop, the mill, and other everyday settings, although initially familiar, becomes quite foreign in the context of general lanuage. Mulligan contends that, upon close examination of this specialized vocabulary, the lives and experiences of the early workers can be better understood, thus opening another avenue in the exploration of this country's industrial heritage. As a historical barometer reflecting the extent of change in an industry, the language of particular crafts and industries brings together the social and cultural background of the participants, and the dynamic of the activity or work.

Now available as an ebook! Brief entries cover most countries, international as well as national labor organizations, major labor unions, leaders, and other aspects of labor movements. Includes annotated listing of Web sites, a glossary, lists of leaders, and union membership statistics.

A collection of brief historical essays on British trade unions. Aims at comprehensiveness of occupational categories and characteristics of unions. Each of the four volumes that made up this bibliography is preceded by an introductory historical chapter.

Covers unions, union leaders, labor-related events, important statutes and court cases, and labor terminology. Entries are cross-referenced and includes suggested readings. Spans colonial times to the 1990s.

A compilation of short essays on the main labor strikes in American history, intended for laymen but useful for students and scholars as well. Entries provide the main outline of events and a few suggestions for further reading. A chronology, a glossary, and a selected bibliography complement this encyclopedia. Access is sometimes problematic because strikes are entered inconsistently in the listing, sometimes geographically, sometimes by trade. The subject index at the end will help locate the desired strikes.

Contains more than two hundred historical sketches of American unions, selected according to their longevity, historical significance, and influence on the labor movement as a whole. A useful tool as a quick but informative reference guide.

Provides in-depth analysis of more than 300 key events in labor history over the last 200 years, focusing on the relevance of these events to both the labor movement as a whole and to societal changes around the world. Each entry, written and signed by an expert in the field, includes a description of the event, information about the key players involved and discusses the event in historical context.

Contains tables that describe individual labor unions and the labor movement from 1897-1985. This is a unique compilation with a wealth of information.

This text analyzes work and the workforce in America from the Industrial Revolution to the era of globalization. Its 265 entries examine key disciplines such as economics, public policy, law, human and civil rights, cultural studies, and organizational psychology.

This encyclopedia traces the evolution of American workers and labor organizations from pre-Revolutionary America through the present day. Suggested reading for each entry, including both print and online resources, and a chronology of important labor highlights.