Key databases for articles
-
Articles & Full TextScholarly journal articles (as well as non-scholarly sources), many available as pdfs. Use filters to narrow and focus results. When the article is not visible as a PDF, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
-
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndex to articles and books about architecture.
-
Art & Architecture SourceCovers historical and contemporary fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as various areas of architecture and architectural design.
-
Urban Studies AbstractsCovers areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
-
PAIS InternationalInternational coverage of public policy literature in economics, government, law, international business, political science and public administration.
-
Web of ScienceInterdisiciplinary peer-reviewed articles. Particularly strong on the sciences and social sciences.
-
JSTORA full-text archive of scholarly journals. Search tips: Place quotation marks around phrases. Try the Advanced Search, if needed, to limit your search terms to the titles or abstracts of articles.
LIDAR
Tree canopy height from ArcGIS Online Living Atlas but they estimated it from elevation LiDAR from Global Ecosystem Dynamics Investigation (GEDI). Click on “GEDI02_A | Level 2A Elevation and Height Metrics” on that download page, which leads to the Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (LP DAAC) page for the dataset. There's data and in theory Jamaica is covered and there’s a lot of documentation and a video that shows how to use GEDI data.
LP DAAC is one of 12 potential sources for NASA data – you can select others using the dropdown menu to the upper left on the LP DAAC page linked above, or browse/search Earthdata (some USGS data is in there, too!) and can be an alternative/complement to the NOAA site.
Trade & Building Statistics
Selected historical publications by the Jamaica Department of Statistcs which include industries
Current statistics: STATIN: Satistical Institute of Jamaica
More: Guide to sources of recent international trade statistics
-
CEPALSTAT Databases (Latin America and Carribean)Find statistics, starting in some cases with 1950!
-
Statistical yearbook of Jamaica
Call Number: Library Annex HA891 .S79Publication Date: 1973-1999An annual summary of data prepared by the Information Section of the Central Planning and Development Division of the Dept. of Statistics. -
Facts on Jamaica
Call Number: Olin Library Oversize F1868 .J273 1973 +Publication Date: 19738 vols prepared by Jamaica Department of Statistics.
[1] Electricity and water supply.
[2] History and government.
[3] Mineral production.
[4] Population and vital statistics.
[5] Tourism.
[6] Trade and price indices.
[7] Education.
[8] Physiography. -
Annual abstract of statistics - Department of Statistics
Call Number: Library Annex Oversize HA891 .A44 ++Publication Date: 1960-1968Produced by Jamaica. Dept. of Statistics.
-
Building activity in Jamaica
Call Number: Library Annex TH33.J32 A25A periodical about construction statistics for the 1960s-1970s.
Library has: 1961/1965-1967/1975 Available
Material ConneXion
-
Material conneXionMaterial ConneXion is the definitive source to discover and research new and innovative materials and processes from around the world. Architects, engineers and industrial and interior designers can discover materials from a large spectrum of industries typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. Materials are carefully juried before being added to our collection so that only the best materials are included. We present them to our library users with comprehensive product information-technical specifications, application information, material developer profiles, material images and more.
Freely available product information
-
Building Materials (by McGraw-Hill SWEETS)The Sweets directory of building product information can be searched by manufacturer, product, or product type.
Historical sources
See the tab on this guide for "Jamaica: History" for more resources.
-
Digital Library of the CaribbeanIncludes historical newspapers published in Jamaica. Outstanding for advertisements related to construction companies and materials and articles on buildings.
Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.
Selected books & periodicals
-
Historic Architecture in the Caribbean Islands
Call Number: Mui Ho Fine Arts Library NA791 .C88Publication Date: 1994Useful guide to the significant structures on each island. -
Architecture and Empire in Jamaica
Publication Date: 2016Through Creole houses and merchant stores to sugar fields and boiling houses, Jamaica played a leading role in the formation of both the early modern Atlantic world and the British Empire. Architecture and Empire in Jamaica offers the first scholarly analysis of Jamaican architecture in the long 18th century, spanning roughly from the Port Royal earthquake of 1692 to Emancipation in 1838. In this richly illustrated study, which includes hundreds of the author's own photographs and drawings, Louis P. Nelson examines surviving buildings and archival records to write a social history of architecture. Nelson begins with an overview of the architecture of the West African slave trade then moves to chapters framed around types of buildings and landscapes, including the Jamaican plantation landscape and fortified houses to the architecture of free blacks. He concludes with a consideration of Jamaican architecture in Britain. By connecting the architecture of the Caribbean first to West Africa and then to Britain, Nelson traces the flow of capital and makes explicit the material, economic, and political networks around the Atlantic. -
Jamaica architect
by
Call Number: Library Annex NA1 .J27A periodical produced in the 19602-1970s.
Library has: no.1-13 (1967-1977)
