Oxford Reference
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)Annotated bibliographies of primary and secondary sources written by top scholars in the field.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs)Extremely high quality set of online encyclopedias covering all disciplines, time periods, global in coverage.
-
Oxford Very Short Introductions Online100 page introductions (with blbliography) on topics in Arts, Humanities, Medicine, Health, Sciences, Mathematics, Social sciences, and Law.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsThe complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online.
Cambridge Histories Online
Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.
-
A Concise History of Jamaica
Publication Date: 2023Covers the island's development before 1500, with detailed material on the Taino society; the two centuries of slavery and its aftermath between 1660 and 1860; the continuance of colonialism between 1860 and 1945; the background to Jamaican independence between 1945 and 1960; and the evolution of Jamaica as an independent nation since the early 1960s. -
The Jamaica Reader: HIstory, Politics, Culture
Publication Date: 2021Combining more than one hundred classic and lesser-known primary sources from 16th century to the present.
Primary & Secondary Sources Published as Books
Library catalog searches that can be modified to suit your particular focus and needs:
Secondary sources on Jamaica history
Primary historical sources relating to Jamaica published as books
Lots more information about how to search the library catalog and requesting items, etc.
Secondary Scholarly Journal Articles
-
Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450. Very strong on Latin America and the Caribbean.
Lots more information about how to searching databases and accessing articles and requesting scans, etc.
Selected Digital Primary Source Collections
-
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876,A major full-text database, is also searchable separately or as part of America's Historical Newspapers.
-
The Centre for the Study of the Legacies of British SlaveryRich digital collection of primary sources on slavery in the British empire including maps, estate materials, ships, and more.
-
Transatlantic Slave Trade DatabaseOne component of the SlaveVoyages digital project.
-
Digital Library of the Caribbean"Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts."
-
Jamaica manuscripts collection, 1774-1950The Jamaica Manuscripts Collection contains 20 documents, most of which concern Jamaica in a variety of ways (others are regarding the British West Indies at large). Included, among other things, are correspondence, journals, official documents such as power of attorney documents and affidavits, plantation records, notes on the climate of Jamaica, and Spanish reports on English possessions.
-
Gale Primary SourcesEnormous collection of primary sources including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Slavery & Anti-Slavery, The Making of the Modern World, Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories, and more. Quite a bit of material on Jamaica.