Background
Use Wikipedia with caution.
-
Handbook of Caribbean Economies
Publication Date: 2020The chapters, written by expert contributors, examine the Caribbean economies from several perspectives. Many break new ground in questioning past policy mindsets, while developing new approaches to many of the traditional constraints limiting growth in the region.
More encyclopedias, handbooks, and other titles focused on overviews of Jamaica and the Caribbean literature, culture, international relations, etc.
More information and possibilities for specialized encyclopedias
Books from the Catalog
Library catalog searches to start with which can be modified to suit your particular focus and needs:
Jamaica agriculture and farming
the environment and Jamaica and/or Caribbean
Lots more information about how to search the library catalog and requesting items, etc.
Databases for Secondary Articles
-
AGRICOLAAGRICultural OnLine Access, coverage includes: agricultural administration, laws and regulations, economics, education, training and extension, engineering and products; animal science; aquatic sciences; chemistry; energy as related to agriculture; entomology; feed science; food science and food products; forestry; general agriculture; geography, meteorology, climatology and history; home economics and human ecology; human nutrition; institutional food service; life sciences; natural resources management and environmental pollution; pesticides; plant diseases; plant science and production; rural sociology; soil science; veterinary medicine. Coverage from 1970 to the present.
-
CAB AbstractsCAB Abstracts covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of nutrition, agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources.
-
Environment IndexCovering environmental policy and studies.
-
Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450. Very strong on Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes very recent history.
Lots more information about how to searching databases and accessing articles and requesting scans, etc.