Start with what you know.
- Course readings, authors, book and article titles, key words, etc.
- Start with simple and general search terms, then add complexity, focus, and specifics.
Test your topic.
- Library homepage - library.cornell.edu
- Library Catalogs
- Google
- Gale Virtual Reference, Reference Universe, Sage Reference Online -- Search for online subject specific encyclopedia articles (background information) on your topic.
- Research is re-searching. If you don't find what you want initially, try other keyword combinations for better search results.
Search for scholarly journal articles to develop and support your thesis statement.
- Library Catalog
- Articles search on Library home page -- New Summon search engine.
- General, multidisciplinary databases -- ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier
- Specific subject databases -- Use the Database search on the Library home page to find databases for your topic.
Exploit bibliographies to find additional information sources on your topic. Look for these lists of recommended resources in:
- Wikipedia
- Web sites
- Encyclopedia articles
- Journal articles
- Books and book chapters
- Library Guides
Do you need primary sources for your research?
- Letters, correspondence, diaries, notebooks, autobiographical materials, etc.
- Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections in Kroch Library
Dare to explore analog options. Not all information is digital. Especially historic information.
- Print encyclopedias and books
- Borrow Direct and other Requests
- Print indexes and journals
- Microfilm
Evaluate and critically assess your information sources.
- Who created this information?
- Is the information authoritative, accurate, objective, up-to-date, and scholarly?
Be aware of copyrights and the ethical use of information
- Copyright Information Center
Know when to ask for help.
See also: Introduction to Research