Digital Primary Sources
Selected digital collections:
Gale: Primary Sources
Cross-searches eighteen of Gale's online digital history resources. Click on "See What's Inside: Learn More" to see the complete list of archives and the date coverage for each archive. All of the news titles in Gale NewsVault are included plus additional collections with partial newspaper content
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
-
Proquest CongressionalProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
Primary Sources in Books
Printed, edited, translated primary sources in Cornell's Library Catalog
The term "sources" as a subject word will retrieve published primary sources or books about primary source. An example:
For memoirs, diaries, interviews, or biographical accounts (including autobiographical accounts), use the term "personal narratives" or "biographies" as subjects.
Examples of search strings.: