Essentials
- Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450.
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies = Reshimat maamarim be-madae ha-YahadutSelective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveExcludes 3-5 years most recent articles. ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life/Historical Abstracts.
- Project MuseCompanion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years.
- ProQuest Research LibraryMultidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
- EBSCO Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
German-language articles:
Österreichische Historische Bibliographie Searchable database combining entries from the various annual printed volumes of the Austrian Historical Bibliography.
Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte Indexes German and foreign-language academic publications through 2015. Indexes monographs, edited volumes, periodical articles, source editions, reference works and bibliographies. No longer updated (2016).
IBZ online International interdisciplinary index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, with particular emphasis on the humanities, arts and social sciences. Indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. Multilingual, with English and German interfaces.
European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies = Bibliographie europénne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung No full text. Index and abstracts only. Scholarly. Chiefly secondary sources. Focuses on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Indexes publications from Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. Multilingual. Also known as ESEES.
How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar does this as well, but appears to include all citing sources, whether or not they have been published through the peer-review process.