Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Essentials
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsThe complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online.
- Oxford Very Short IntroductionsA variety of topics.
- Encyclopedia JudaicaJewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Specialized Encyclopedias
A Companion to Europe, 1900 - 1945Publication Date: 2007Provides an overview of current thinking on the period. Traces the great political, social and economic upheavals of the time. Illuminates perennial themes, as well as new areas of enquiry. Takes a pan-European approach, highlighting similarities and differences across nations and regions.
The Oxford Handbook of European History 1914–1945Publication Date: 2016
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of the First World WarPublication Date: 2006Offers critical overviews of the major literary genres and social contexts that define the study of the literatures produced by the First World War. The volume comprises original essays by distinguished scholars of international reputation, who examine the impact of the war on various national literatures, principally Great Britain, Germany, France and the United States, before addressing the way the war affected Modernism, the European avant-garde, film, women's writing, memoirs, and of course the war poets. It concludes by addressing the legacy of the war for twentieth-century literature. The Companion offers readers a chronology of key events and publication dates covering the years leading up to and including the war, and ends with a current bibliography of further reading organised by chapter topics.
A Historical Dictionary of PsychiatryPublication Date: 2005Includes the key concepts, individuals, places, and institutions that have shaped the evolution of psychiatry and the neurosciences.
Historisches Lexikon Wien in 5 BändenCall Number: Olin Library DB847.C99 H6Publication Date: 1992-1997Includes illustrations and maps.
- Österreichisches Biographisches LexikonAustrian biographical dictionary. Based on the print "Österreichische Biographische Lexikon 1815–1950" covers Austria and the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Entries covering 1950- being added.
The Oxford Handbook of Modern German HistoryPublication Date: 2011
Democracy: A Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: 2002
Fascism: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: 2014
Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:
OED
English Language and its history
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) The dictionary that is scholar's preferred source; it goes far beyond definitions.