FInding images guide
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital LibraryYou can only download if you register for an account, which you'll need to do on campus. After you have an account, you can login from anywhere. This video tutorial has more detailed instructions.
Artstor images now in JSTOR
JSTOR is a growing digital library that includes multiple types and formats of content. By August 2024, the migration of images from ARTstor to JSTOR will be complete.
Johnson Museum Online
Databases & Collections
The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the library Visual Resources page for links and information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.
Get help with digital images
Register to download
This tutorial guides users through the process of registering for an ARTstor user account.
Collections on the Web
- BIBLIOTECA DIGITAL HISPÁNICA | BIBLIOTECA NACIONAL DE ESPAÑA
- Atlases, engravings, carographic materials, manuscripts
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
See especially: maps - Archivo Digital de Arte Peruano
Digital archive of Peruvian art, including visual resources covering historic and contemporary works from the Pre-Columbian period to present - Brown's extensive collections of Latin American and Caribbean Studies materials also includes many maps
- Newberry Library Digital Collections
In addition to maps, includes "Manuscript copy of legal documents dated 1783-1785 relating to the trial of brothers Antonio, Gabriel, and Gaspar of the noble Ugarte family of Cusco, Peru, on suspicion that they had promoted the rebellion of JoseÌ Gabriel Tupac-Amaru in 1780-1781." - Blanton Museum of Art Collection (University of Texas/Austin)
- Art Institute of Chicago, Arts of the Americas Collection
- San Diego Museum of Art
- Museo de Historia Mexicana
- Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
- Minneapolis Museum of Art
- Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
- Benton Museum of Art, Pomona College
- Harvard Art Museums
- Frost Art Museum, Florida International University
- Orlando Museum of Art
Digital Collections
There are lots of great online collections that are free and open on the web, many of them on museum websites. Here are a few that may offer some good images of objects related to your research:
- American Memory, The Library of CongressSubject categories: Advertising, African American History, Architecture, Landscape, Cities, Towns, Culture, Folklife, Environment, Conservation, Government, Law, Immigration, American Expansion, Literature, Maps, Native American History, Performing Arts, Music, Presidents, Religion, Sports, Recreation, Technology, Industry, War, Military, Women's History. Also see the Library of Congress Flickr Commons collection.
- Art Institute of ChicagoExplore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
- Brooklyn Museum Online CollectionsBrooklyn Museum's digital gallery contains over 90,000 digitized images from its collections. Users can browse, save, research, comment and tag. Wide-range of cultures, regions, and temporal periods represented.
- Getty Research Institute Open Content ImagesBrand new in October 2013. 5,400 newly available, high-resolution images from the Research Institute include drawings and watercolors, artists’ sketchbooks, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks and 19th-century photographs of the Middle East and Asia.
- Joconde: French museum collectionsFrench ministry of culture's site, in French. 500,000 records of objects (subject categories: archaeology, fine arts, ethnography, history, science & technology...).
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogContains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtSelected works of art in the Museum's collections. Also available (in higher resolution) from ARTstor.
- National Gallery of Art: NGA ImagesA repository of more than 20,000 open access digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryProvides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections SearchSearch archival, print and digital content. Over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries, including the American Art Museums, the Portrait Gallery, Archives of American Art, National Museum of American History, and more.
- Yale University ImagesYale University Library Digital Images Database. Includes: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library Digital Images (especially rich in American literature and Western Americana), the Yale Art Gallery and the Yale Map Collection.