Oxford Art
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships and a digital image search.
Latin American Historical Dictionaries
This series is housed at the annex or in the Olin stacks, so you can check any of these out:
- Historical Dictionary of Bolivia
Olin Library F3304 H43 - Historical Dictionary of Colombia
Olin Library F2254 D26 2012 - Historical Dictionary of Cuba
Online - Historical Dictionary of the Dominican Republic
Online - Historical Dictionary of Ecuador
Olin Library F3704 .B73
- Historical Dictionary of Haiti
Olin Library F1913. P47 - Historical Dictionary of Mexico
- Olin Library F1204 .B74 2008
- Historical Dictionary of Peru
Online - Historical dictionary of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Olin Library F1954 .F23 - Historical Dictionary of Venezuela
Online
Recommended Sources at the Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall)
Use these sources for broad, contextual information and for biographical summaries.
Be sure to go through the Bibliography or Recommended Resources at the end of each entry for recommended books & articles.
The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N6502 .E53 1999ISBN: 1884446043Publication Date: 2002-01-01The nearly 1,400 articles in this volume cover all the major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. From 16th-century Spanish colonial architects such as Fray Andres San Miguel to European explorers such as Alexander von Humboldt to contemporary artists such as Debora Arango, the entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures.
Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies on many, many topics (a few pertinent individual titles listed below). Provides introductions to each topic area, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Help from Oxford: Anatomy of an Article
Cuba & Hispaniola
Image:De Bry, Theodore, Grands and Petits Voyages (First Latin Edition, Third Issue), 1590 - 1634. Map of Florida and the Caribbean. Source: Wikimedia Commons.
General context
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCall Number: OnlineMany reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas. Subject categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social sciences.
Other specialized reference works
- Berg Fashion LibraryPart of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, this database provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time (1600 to date) and by place (click on world map).
Recommended Sources at Olin & Online
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) F 1410 .E56x 2002 +ISBN: 1573563064
A Reference Guide to Latin American History by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) F 1410 .H463x 2000 +ISBN: 1563247445
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: Online and Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) F1406 .E53 2008 vols. 1-6ISBN: 0684312700Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003Call Number: Online and Olin Reference PQ7081.A1 E558 2004ISBN: 0415306868"More than 1,200 entries written by 190 contributors, covers Spanish America and Brazil, as well as the Dutch, French, and English Caribbean. Entries are brief, but do include a selective bibliography for further reading." (Guide to Reference, ALA)
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies by Call Number: Olin Reference F1408.3 .D5513 2012ISBN: 9780813037585Publication Date: 2012-02-26
Iberia and the Americas by Call Number: Olin Reference E18.75 .I24 2005ISBN: 1851094210Publication Date: 2005-11-21This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
