Essentials
-
Historical AbstractsArticles and book reviews. Full text available through Get it Cornell!
-
America History and LifeArticles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.
-
Black Studies CenterIncludes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
-
Index IslamicusCovers worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Contains scholarship written 1906 – present.
-
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies = Reshimat maamarim be-madae ha-YahadutCover all important articles relevant to Judaic studies.
-
Africa WideAfrica-wide NiPAD is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present.
-
Middle Eastern & Central Asian StudiesArticles and book reviews. Full text available through Get it Cornell!
-
Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
-
JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.
-
Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalSearchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
-
Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish LiteratureInformation about articles and books on Ottoman-Turkish Literature (not all in English).
-
Turkology Annual Online = The Turkologischer Anzeiger/Turkology Annual (TA)An international bibliography for Turkology and Ottoman Studies
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Book Reviews
Bustan: The Middle East Book Review contains article-length review essays and traditional book reviews. Articles will deal with a host of topics related to the Middle East and Islamic Studies. Subjects include (but are not limited to) political science, economics, history, language, geography and cultural issues of the region. Articles review works in a multitude of languages; however, articles are exclusively written in English.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.