Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Oxford Reference
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)Annotated bibliographies of primary and secondary sources written by top scholars in the field.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs)Extremely high quality set of online encyclopedias covering all disciplines, time periods, global in coverage.
-
Oxford Very Short Introductions Online100 page introductions (with blbliography) on topics in Arts, Humanities, Medicine, Health, Sciences, Mathematics, Social sciences, and Law.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsThe complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online.
Biography
-
Encyclopedia of Life Writing
Publication Date: 2013Highly recommended. Explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured. It includes entries on genres and subgenres, national and regional traditions from around the world, and important auto-biographical writers, as well as articles on related areas such as oral history, anthropology, testimonies, and the representation of life stories in non-verbal art forms. -
The Palgrave Handbook of Auto/Biography
Publication Date: 2020
-
Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyThe standard work for biography of figures influential in the British Empire. Highly recommended. Excellent bibliography.
-
American National BiographyBiographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
Cambridge Histories Online
Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.
General
|
Flicker photo by teachernz |
Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:
|
