Getting the Full Text of Articles
Some articles are published in Open Access Journals meaning that they are publicly available and you don't need a Cornell affiliation to access.
Some articles are published in journals for which Cornell has a subscription, which means you have free access.
Some articles are published in journals to which Cornell does not have a subscription, but you can get those articles for free through Interlibrary Loan services.
This section of the guide explains different access options.
GetIt! Cornell
Databases often provide direct access to the full text of an article through a link to the full text or to the PDF of the article.
If the database does not provide full-text directly, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another source.
Interlibrary Loan Services
Sometimes you cannot access the full text of an article (usually because Cornell does not subscribe to the journal or has not purchased the resource). If this happens, take advantage of Cornell's Interlibrary Loan Services.
Register on the Interlibrary Loan site and then submit a request -- providing all of the required citation information.
The Interlibrary Loan staff will send your request to affiliated libraries that own the journal and, in most cases, you will receive the article in your email within several days. There is no charge to Cornell students, faculty and staff for this service.
Access Anywhere
Access Anywhere is a tool
The Library provides access to many databases, books, and journal articles for you to use in your research. When you are on campus, these resources are available automatically because you are connected to the Cornell network. When you attempt to do research off campus, you not longer have automatic access to these resources. The Access Anywhere bookmark creates that connection and allows you to access electronic resources as if you were still on campus.
Using Access Anywhere
If you're starting your research on the web when you're off-campus, rather than from the library homepage, you won’t necessarily have access to all of the library-funded journal articles and databases that the library provides. After installing Access Anywhere, it will show up as a bookmark in your web browser. To use it, just go to any website you’re trying to access, click the Access Anywhere bookmark and it should prompt you to log in with your NetID and password. Once you log in, you should be able to access the resource.
Limits to Access Anywhere
Access Anywhere only provides access to online resources that the library has subscribed to or purchased. That means that occasionally, you may come across an article or database that you won't be able to access with Access Anywhere. When this happens, check the library catalog. We often have access to journals through a number of different databases and you can often find alternative access by searching for the journal or publication in the catalog.
If you are unable to find alternative access through the catalog, we may not have access to that particular resource at all. You can request books and articles through Borrow Direct and interlibrary loan or you can Ask A Librarian for additional assistance.