Get Full Text!
- Immediate access for what Cornell owns:
- search Library Catalog, bookmark links
- 12-48 hrs for materials in storage:
- 2-14 days for article requests:
- 3-5 days for books:
Working Off-Campus
Log in once with the Passkey browser bookmarklet that connects you to all the Library's databases and journals.
- Go to passkey.library.cornell.edu and drag the icon above into your browser toolbar.
- When you want to get into an article or database off campus, click on Passkey.
- You will be prompted for your netID and then redirected to the article full text.
- ​PassKey works on most common browsers and mobile devices.
Citation Management Tools
- ZoteroFree, open source, web-based tool for managing citations, organizing pdfs, and creating bibliographies.
- MendeleyFree, web-based tool from Elsevier for managing references, creating bibliographies, and pdf organizer.
- EndnoteFull feature citation management software. Free 30-day trial available through EndNote, can be purchased at the Campus Store.
- BibTexReference management software for formatting lists of references in LaTex.
Citing Sources: Rules of Thumb
Ten simple rules for responsible referencing
Formatting citations:
- Include as much information as necessary to uniquely identify the source. When in doubt about whether to include clarifying information in a citation, include it.
- If no author, use a corporate author (e.g. company, association etc)
- If no publication date, use the abbreviation (n.d.)
- If there is a DOI, no retrieval date is necessary
- If no DOI, include a stable URL (e.g., authoritative website)
- If content is likely to change, include a retrieval date (for example, websites, quarterly financial data, etc.)
Common citation formats:
- ACS style for citing scientific sources
- APA style for citing business sources
- Citation formatter for many other common formats
- ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
The ACS Guide covers journal authoring topics including organization of articles, peer review, citation formats, chemical styling, open access, sharing data, safety information, and preprints.
Citation Examples
Basic format:
ACS style (for scientific sources):
Surname, A. A.; Surname, B. B.; et al. Title of article. Journal Title Abbreviation year of publication, volume number (issue number), page range. DOI: number (explanatory note, if needed.)
APA style (for business sources):
Surname, A. A., & Surname, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Online Periodical, volume number (issue number if available), pages. Retrieved from database/URL/DOI. (optional)
Examples (ACS*):
Articles
Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Block. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019, 141 (7), 2742−2753. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.8b08648
Technical Reports
Hung, C.-C.; Hurst, J.; Santiago, D. Boron Nitride Nanoribbons from Exfoliation of Boron Nitride Nanotubes; NASA/TM-2017-219455; National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Glenn Research Center: Cleveland, OH, 2017. https://ntrs.nasa.gov/search.jsp?R=2017000388 (accessed 2019-09-10).
Patents
Lois-Caballe, C.; Baltimore, D.; Qin, X.-F. Method for Expression of Small RNA Molecules within a Cell. US 7,732,193 B2, 2010.
Chemistry Data from a Database
4-Bromo-2-fluorotoluene. SDBSWeb. National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology. https://sdbs.db.aist.go.jp (accessed 2019-03-17).
Software
Schrödinger Release 2019-3: BioLuminate; Schrödinger, LLC: New York, 2019. https://www.schrodinger.com/products/bioluminate (accessed 2019-09-08).
Standards
ASTM International. Standard Test Method for Tensile Properties of Plastics; ASTM D638-14; West Conshohocken, PA, 2014. DOI: 10.1520/D0638-14
Safety Data Sheets (SDSs)
1,4'-Bipiperidine, 99%; CAS RN: 4897-50-1; B22028; rev. 1; Alfa Aesar, Thermo Fisher Scientific: Fair Lawn, NJ, February 20, 2018. https://www.alfa.com/en/catalog/sds/B22028/ (accessed 2019-10-07).
*ACS examples from the ACS Guide for Scholarly Communication, 2020. https://pubs.acs.org/doi/full/10.1021/acsguide.40303
Examples (APA**):
Analyst Reports
SADIF Investment Analytics. (2012). Is now the time to buy Starbucks corporation? Retrieved from ThomsonOne database.
Annual Reports from Corporate Websites
Walmart Inc. (2019). Walmart 2018 annual report. Retrieved January 16, 2019 from
https://s2.q4cdn.com/056532643/files/doc_financials/2018/annual/WMT-2018_Annual-Report.pdf
Bloomberg Data
Bloomberg L. P. (2012). Stock price graph for Target Corporation 10/22/12 to 10/26/12. Retrieved from Bloomberg database.
Company and Industry Reports
O'Connor, C. (2018). IBISWorld Industry Report OD4605: Athletic Shoe Stores in the US. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.
Market Research
Harland, B. (2015). Back to school shopping - US - January 2015. Retrieved from Mintel Reports database.
Census and Demographics Data
U.S. Census Bureau. (2012). Table 2.2-U.S. Manufacturers' Sales Branches and Offices- Total and E-commerce Sales: 2010 and 2009. Retrieved from http://www.census.gov/econ/estats/2010/all2010tables.html
**APA examples from Indiana University Libraries at Bloomington. Retrieved 2020-12-02 from https://libraries.indiana.edu/businessspea-information-commons-citation-guide.