Management Library
(johnson.library.cornell.edu)
Contact Info:
101 Sage Hall
The Johnson School
607-255-3389
101 Sage Hall
The Johnson School
607-255-3389
Email the Management Library
(mgtref@cornell.edu)
(mgtref@cornell.edu)
Market Research
Market research is similar to industry research except instead of focusing on the companies in an industry, it focuses on who the customers are, why they buy what they do, and forecasts.
You might look at market research to determine trends that might affect your sales. For example, if you are manufacturing pharmaceuticals then demographics and rates of disease will affect the forecasted demand for your product.
- FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- PassportExcellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.
- Frost & SullivanIn-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation. Covers 1998 to present, updated as new reports are produced.
- Mintel AcademicOffers yearly market research reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets for products, markets and demographics. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more.
- Mintel Global New Products DatabaseMonitors worldwide product innovation and new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets. Covers food, drink, household, beauty & personal care, healthcare, and pet sectors across key global markets.
Industry Research
Industry research looks at all the firms that make a product or service and the environment in which they operate. This includes things like market share, regulations, supplying industries, distribution channels, customers, and trends.
In general, there is more information available for larger and/or more established industries, industries that are trending, and those that have a lot of investor interest.
Top Resources:
- Industry associations, which advocate on behalf on their members, are good sources of information regarding regulatory issues and trends. Example, PhRMA https://www.phrma.org/
- Regulatory bodies and NGOs may have high-level statistics. Example, FDA https://www.fda.gov/
- Trade journals will have recent news and trends in particular industries. May discuss materials prices.
- Like industry associations, there are many different trade journals out there. Contact us if you would like assistance finding some.
- Example, Pharmaceutical Executive
- Industry reports via IBISworld, ABI/INFORM, Passport, Statista, and Frost & Sullivan
- NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) for finding out where the industry is in context with others.
- ThomasNET a good source for finding manufacturers of particular products.
Top Picks: Industry
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
- ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. ABI/Inform covers the areas of accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, transportation.