Writing Aids
Find many "Getting Started" guides through the library catalog Quick Links feature. Choose Research Guides and then view the list of titles in the Getting Started column.
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography This guide explains what an annotated bib is; the difference between annotations and abstracts; the process of gathering items; how to critically appraise books, articles or documents; choosing a citation style.
For examples of annotations, see any country volume of the World Bibliographical Series, most of which are online. Although dated, they also offer a good starting point for background research. Oxford Bibliographies cover many topics and the bibliographical lists include annotations.
Citation Management Includes links to several styles such as APA (American Psychological Association), MLA (Modern Language Association), CMS (Chicago Manual of Style), CSE (Scientific Style and Format). Also has links to citation management guides, such as Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote and how to use them to create a bibliography.
Sources for Research
- Ecology DatabasesList of databases. Includes GreenFILE "covering all aspects of human impact on the environment," and Environment Index, which has "abstracts and indexing...covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more."
- Encyclopedia of EcologyScroll down to see list of subjects. Under Human Ecology, for instance, there are links to more detailed topics, such as an overview of the concept of "human ecology."
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesArticles from scholarly journals, book chapters in edited books; books. Sample search: Three Gorges Dam (and) China
(To add more databases to the search, such as GreenFile, Environment Index, or Academic Search Premier, use the "choose databases" feature). - Routledge Handbook of Environment and Society in Asia(also in print). "This handbook provides a comprehensive survey of the cultural, social and policy contexts of environmental change across East Asia" Also contains articles on Southeast Asia and Asia-Pacific.
- Environmental Philosophy(Oxford Bibliographies database, Philosophy volume). Essay on history of "environmental philosophy" and human & ethical considerations. Annotated bibliographical sources organized by general works, reference sources, textbooks & introductory sources.
- EcoWatchCovers environmental and ecological issues. Use search box at top to find entries on particular countries.
Subject Headings to try
To get a list of all subtopics and geographic areas for a subject heading, use the "subject heading A-Z" option by the search box on the library catalog
(When doing a Subject A-Z search, use a caret ">"between terms).
Human Ecology Human ecology>Asia
Urbanization>environmental aspects>Asia community development>environmental aspects
Sample keyword searches -- use the "all fields" option. Use the limits on the left to filter to more specific geographic area, or language, or subject (an more0.
Ecotourism Asia Sustainable development Asia
Subjects for sample book:
Asia Information & Reference
CornellUniversity
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Phone: 607-255-8199
asiaref@cornell.edu