Scholarly Articles
- MLA International BibliographyIndexes articles, chapters in books, and books on all aspects of literature. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
- Old Testament AbstractsArticles about the Bible.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseA comprehensive database that contains citations from international titles and multi-author works in and related to the field of religion.
- Index IslamicusArticles about Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
- Middle East & Central Asian StudiesArticles about the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB)Covers all aspects of the European Middle Ages including literature, history, archaeology, etc. Indexes articles, chapters in books, books, etc. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
- Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender IndexAn index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
- Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
- Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450.
- America: History & LifeCovers the history of North America from 1450 C.E. to the present. Includes JStor journals.
- JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
- Project MUSEFull text of selected journals including most recent issues.
What is Passkey?
Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
In Firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)
In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites
The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey. You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it!
Detailed help for installing PassKey
How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell!
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, or Get it Cornell gets stuck, search by the title of the article in Library Home page search, search by journal title in the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar does this as well, but appears to include all citing sources, whether or not they have been published through the peer-review process.