Finding Books
- The Library CatalogComplete information on library materials held locally
- WorldCatUse this worldwide multi-library catalog to find materials in libraries beyond Cornell University.
Suggested Keywords
As disability studies continues to be highly medicalized, you may need to use medical terms or consult materials focused on medical treatments, especially with older materials. It's helpful to search using the most specific terms as is relevant to your research; for example, search "Autism Spectrum" instead of "people with disabilities." You might also need to use outdated or offensive terms, depending on the time period of your search.
These links lead to the Browse Subjects section of the library catalog. You can either browse the multitude of subjects in the catalog as well as their sub-topics, or click on the subject title to see all the books that have that subject assigned to them. You can also add subsections to a subject term to get to more specific information, such as "employment," "legal status," "economic conditions," or "social aspects."
- Acalculia
- Agraphia
- African Americans with Disabilities
- Apraxia
- Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
- Autistic People
- Autistic People > Employment
- Autistic People > Vocational Guidance
- Autism Spectrum Disorders
- Autism Spectrum Disorders > Patients > Employment
- Blind
- Blind > Economic Conditions
- Blindness
- Children with Disabilities
- Deaf
- DeafBlind People
- Deafness
- Depression
- Developmental disabilities
- Developmentally disabled
- Disability studies
- Disability
- Disabilities
- Disabilities > Social Aspects
- Disabled persons
- Discrimination against people with disabilities
- Down Syndrome
- Dwarfism
- Dwarfs (Persons)
- Dyscalculia
- Dysgraphia
- Dyslexia
- Hispanic Americans with Disabilities
- Intellectual disability
- Learning disabilities
- Mental illness
- Mentally ill
- People with disabilities
- People with disabilities > employment
- People with disabilities > legal status
- People with mental disabilities
- Sociology of disabilities
Tips for Finding Books
- Your first search should be a very general keyword search.
- Never use a, an, or the when searching for a title.
- Always use the long view to review subject headings.
- If a record says "networked resource" it is usually available online.
- Always pay attention to the call numbers and note whether the material is shelved in the regular, oversized (+), or double oversized (++) sections.
Tips for Finding Articles
- The easiest way to find articles is to use the Articles & Full Text option on the library homepage.
- A more precise way to search for articles is to select and browse Research Guides on the library homepage, especially those recommended in this and other library guides.
- In the databases, choose the advanced or guided searches (usually 3 lines) to help you correctly format your search.
- Use OR between your search terms to broaden the search to include any of the terms.
- Use AND between your search terms to narrow the search to include all the terms.
- Find full text within the databases in html or pdf format.
- Use the GetIt!Cornell to link to full text found outside of the database.
- Ask a Librarian if you need further help!
Top Article Sources
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. ABI/Inform covers the areas of accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, transportation.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals.
- ERICThe Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides abstracts of journal articles and other literature on education and training. Many materials, such as curriculum guides, instructional materials, conference papers, program descriptions, and project reports are available in the ERIC Microfiche collection.
- Hein OnlineContains a variety of full text national and international legal sources, including law review journal articles.
- Nexis UniProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
- Sociology Source UltimateAn expanded version of SocINDEX, including greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive coverage encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.”
- PsycINFOContains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
- Alt-PressWatchFull text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Basic or advanced subject searching takes you to in-depth articles on contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.
- AltPress IndexSubjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism.
- Criminal justice Abstracts with Full-TextThe full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Texts coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
- PAIS InternationalContains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese.
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.
- PubMedPubMed, a digital archive of life sciences journal literature, was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This access point, called Entrez, is a search and retrieval system for a number of databases, including PubMed, PubChem, Taxonomy, a database of biomedical books, and many others.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.