Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background Literature Resources
Why use background or tertiary resources?
- Learn important terms, notable scholars or works, and more information about a topic.
- Bibliographies, further reading, and works cited sections can lead you to secondary sources you can use in your research.
- It's a quick overview of a theme, work, author, or other topic, which can save you time!
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Multidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias, biographical collections, specialized handbooks, and more.
A reference database of 365 online encyclopedia, dictionary, and companion titles published by the Oxford University Press.
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and humanities.
Library Catalog Searching - Subject Headings
Secondary Resources - Databases for Literature Research
MLA International Bibliography
Citations, abstracts, and full text materials. Includes articles and books. Does not include book reviews.
Humanities International Index
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, reviews, and reference sources in the humanities. Many links to full text articles.
America, history & life
Resources published from 1964 to present on American and Canadian history.
Journal articles. Most items are older than five years.
Journal articles. Most items are recent publications (less than five years old).
Finding News Articles
ABYZ News Links
A collection of links to news sites worldwide. Coverage: Mainly the current issue;
Access World News
Features the text content of over 2,400 U.S. and international newspapers and newswires. Good access to many regional and local newspapers.
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Indexing and full-text articles for major business newspapers and many other news sources.
Gale OneFile: News
Coverage and format: around 1980 to date. Includes some international publications and newswires.
Keesing's World News Archive
Coverage and format: 01/05/1931 to 04/2016. News digest--- event overviews and background information.
Coverage starts in 2005. A daily selection of articles from news sources appearing in 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. English translations.
Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Includes television and radio. Mainly English and Western European languages.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Titles are searchable across any combination of newspapers in this collection. For most titles, another year of coverage is added each calendar year.
World News Connection
Coverage from 1995 to 2013. From the U.S. government, this resource provides English translations of international newspaper articles and radio/television broadcasts.
Helpful handouts and links
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.
This land acknowledgment has been reviewed and approved by the traditional Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' leadership.