Data Analysis Resources
This section of the guide provides information on Cornell resources for getting help with data analysis as well as workshop opportunities.
Research Data Management Group (CDS)
This Cornell University unit can assist with creating and implementing data management plans as well as finding data management services -- at any stage of the research process. The Services section of the Cornell Data Services website provides an extensive list of available resources in areas such as collaboration tools, data curation, data sharing, metadata, data storage and more. Email Cornell Data Services-help@cornell.edu to arrange a consultation or request training.
Cornell Statistical Consulting Unit (CSCU)
CSCU is a research support unit created to support Cornell faculty, staff and students with study design, data analysis and the incorporation of statistics into their research. Workshops on data related topics and data software are offered on a periodic basis. Virtual drop-in consulting is available for short questions, but for more in-depth assistance it is advisable to schedule an appointment.
Cornell University Library
Campus libraries offer free workshops on a range of topics including citation management software, data management, Excel and research skills. Workshops tend to be offered more in the Fall and Spring semesters than in the summer. Research consultations are available year-round and can be scheduled using the library consultation request form.
Cornell Center for Social Sciences (CCSS)
The Cornell Center for Social Sciences (CCSS) provides Cornell researchers with comprehensive and advanced research support in the social sciences. This section of the guide provides additional information on its services.
Email CCSS-ResearchSupport@cornell.edu for assistance.
The Help Desk FAQs also provides useful information.
Data Services
These services help researchers find and access data in the data archive or external repositories. Secure data services are also available through the Cornell Restricted Access Data Center (CRADC). As one of a network of Federal Statistical Data Centers (FSRDC) access to confidential files of a number of Federal statistical agencies.
Computing Account Software
CCSS provides faculty, graduate students and select researchers with server access to software programs that are useful in data analysis. This includes GIS and Atlas.ti, scientific software programs. Registration is required for access to Atlas.ti.
Consulting
Consulting Services provides assistance with data access, use and analysis, security and data management plans and other research/learning needs.
CISER Data and Reproduction Archives
The archive allows researchers to deposit, preserve and retrieve data. The catalog of data is searchable. See video at the bottom of this column for searching tips.
Workshops
Workshops on a range of data related topics and software skills are offered each semester by staff consultants and data science fellows.
Compute Infrastructure
Provides local and cloud computing for research accounts for current faculty researchers, students, staff and collaborators.