Sources for locating test instruments
- Health and Psychosocial InstrumentsProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Buros, Oscar K., ed. Mental Measurements Yearbook. Lincoln, Neb: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 1937- .
-
Designed to assist users in the fields of education, psychology and industry to make intelligent use of standardized tests. It provides critical descriptions of these tests as well as extensive bibliographic references to books and articles about them. The latest edition is always a completely revised publication supplementing, but not superseding, earlier volumes. The MMY's two volumes consist of Tests and Reviews, which make up the major portion of the publication, and a number of Indexes, located at the end of volume II. A searchable index is now available online.
-
ETS Test Collection Database
Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service, 2003
(online only)A library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices providing information on standardized tests. The database is a comprehensive listing of assessment instruments from the early 1900s to the present.
- PsycTESTS
- Washington: American Psychological Association.
- (online only)
-
This database focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use. All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development. Most records include the actual test instrument.
- Tests in Print VIII: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests. Lincoln, Neb: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln / Distributed by the University of Nebraska Press, 2011.
- (Mann Ref Z 5814 .P8 B96 2011)
-
Contains test descriptions and numerous indexes: Index of MMY test reviewers -- Index of titles -- Index of recently out-of-print tests -- Index of acronyms -- Classified subject index -- Publishers directory and index -- Index of names -- Score index.
Other Methods
- SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods (SRM) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as editorially selected material from SAGE journals. In addition, SRMO contains content from more than 640 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE.
- Urban InstituteA "nonpartisan economic and social policy research organization" since 1968, the Urban Institute uses its web site to disseminate research briefs and reports on policy issues, including health care, housing, welfare, work & income, economy & taxes, crime & justice. The Policy Jargon Decoder is a useful glossary of public policy terms.