Fiction Collection
The Asia Collections in Kroch Library has an extensive collection of literature and fiction in many Asian languages and dialects. This guide organizes the fiction collection by country for East and Southeast Asia; and by language for South Asia. The majority of the fiction books are on the lower level of the Kroch Asia stacks, level 1B, in the PK call number section (South Asian) and the PL section (East Asian and Southeast Asian).
"Literature" covers classic and current novels, short stories, poetry and drama. It includes edited collections of works as well as works by individual authors, and literary history & criticism.
Translations of works are shelved with books in the original language. For example, in addition to Chinese editions of the classic novel Hong Lou Meng [A Dream of Red Mansions], there are versions in English, Vietnamese, French and German.
May 28, 2021
Asia Information & Reference
CornellUniversity
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Phone: 607-255-8199
asiaref@cornell.edu
Asia Collections Staff
|
Greg Green, Curator, Echols Collections Kroch 179 ghg4@cornell.edu Laotian, Thai; some Khmer; mainland SEA (Burma, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam). Jeff Petersen, Southeast Asia Librarian Kroch 178 jwp42@cornell.edu Tagalog language; insular SEA (Indonesia, Philippines, Malaysia). Anthropology specialist Liren Zheng, Curator, Wason Collection (East Asia) Kroch 172 lz14@cornell.edu Chinese language; Overseas Chinese specialty Dan McKee, Japan collection librarian Kroch 173 djm53@cornell.edu Japanese language You Lee Chun, Korea specialist Kroch 175 yc935@cornell.edu Korean language, some Japanese Kelsey Utne, South Asia Collections Librarian 181 Kroch Library. Hindi, Urdu, Persian.
|