Find Background on Food Topics
Use these dictionaries and encyclopedias to learn the language of cooking.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues by ISBN: 9781452243016Publication Date: 2015-05-08The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism.
- Fast food and Junk Food: an Encyclopedia of What We Love to EatAvailable in full-text online. Junk food and fast food have come to play an extremely important role in American economic, historical, cultural, and social life. Tells the intriguing, fun, and incredible stories behind the successes of these commercial food products and documents the numerous health-related, environmental, cultural, and politico-economic issues associated with them. More than 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Charts the spread of some American fast food chains and commercially produced junk foods internationally.
Encyclopedia of Food and CulturePublication Date: Scribner, 2003Presents articles on food and its place in human culture and society, including entries on topics from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
- The Oxford Companion to FoodAvailable in full-text online. Its combination of serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity was recognized as utterly unique. Including both an exhaustive catalog of the foods that nourish humankind and a richly allusive commentary on the culture of food, whether expressed in literature and cookbooks. Jaine assiduously alerts readers to new avenues in food studies. Agriculture; archeology; food in art, film, literature, and music; globalization; neuroanatomy; and the Silk Road.
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by ISBN: 9789400709287Publication Date: 2014-10-29Issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them.
Films
- The Docuseek2: Complete CollectionDocuseek2 launched in 2012 as a joint project of Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films, two leaders in independent, social issue and educational film distribution. The Docuseek2 Complete Collection provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films to request.. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Academic Video OnlineAcademic video online delivers almost 80,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.