Citing Images
When you're writing about an image or multimedia piece in a paper or presentation, you should provide the following pieces of information in the caption and in the bibliography...if you have a list of works of art cited:
- creator(s)
- title
- year(s) of creation
- materials or format
- current owner (such as a museum or private owner), if applicable
- address of the Web site where you found it
Refer to Chicago Manual Style 17th ed. 14.235: Citing paintings, photographs, and sculpture. It calls for: artist, title in italics, date of creation or completion, then medium and current location of the work. For works consulted online, add URL.
That's for the first time you mention it; just the creator and title thereafter.
Chicago Style Citations
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineCall Number: OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab gives excellent examples (for footnotes/endnotes and bibliographies) on how to cite using the Chicago citation style: books, periodicals, web sources, film & television, and much more.
- Examples for how to cite an image using the Chicago Style, from Simon Fraser University
Managing Information
Use citation management/PDF organizing software to save time and energy when organizing and citing research materials.
The library has compiled a list of citation management tools, including Zotero and ZoteroBib. For advice choosing a citation manager or managing information, contact us for a consultation!
Zotero is a free, open sourced, web-based tool for managing citation, organizing PDF's and creating bibliographies. It is a downloadable software program designed for humanities and social sciences research. Developed at the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, it is particularly suited for historical sources.
ZoteroBib is a free, quick and easy online bibliography and citation maker that saves time and trouble. Add sources using the ZoteroBib search box. Then copy and paste the complete bibliography (or footnotes or in-text citations) into your paper in the citation style of your choice. (As great as ZoteroBib is, it isn't perfect. Check your citations carefully using citation style guides or ask a librarian for assistance.)
Light
![Onésipe Aguado de las Marismas.[Woman seen from the back]. ca. 1862. Salted paper print from glass negative](https://images.metmuseum.org/CRDImages/ph/web-large/DP150940.jpg)
Onésipe Aguado de las Marismas.[Woman seen from the back]. ca. 1862. Salted paper print from glass negative, 30.8 × 25.7 cm. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. www.metmuseum.org.