Beer Industry Guide: Books

An all-inclusive guide to wine, beer, and spirits As people develop more sophisticated tastes, a basic understanding of wine, beer, and distilled spirits is more important than ever for chefs, servers, bartenders, and restaurant managers. For professionals and amateurs alike, Beverage Basics provides a thorough and accessible education in the fundamentals. Beverage Basics covers the art and science of winemaking from the vineyard to the table, takes a comprehensive look at the production methods, styles, and ideal food pairings for beer and spirits, and even covers the often-overlooked issues of health and the law.

The Wine, Beer, and Spirits Handbook demystifies the wine and wine-making process, examining not only the making and flavor profiles of wine, beer, and spirits, but also the business of wine service as practiced by a chef or sommelier. Unique to this book, is the strong emphasis on food and wine pairings, as well as food and beverage interactions. More importantly, The Handbook explains the responsibilities of a sommelier from both service and managerial perspectives.

Latest edition available in Nestle Library (Statler Hall.) Please see a librarian for access.

Guiding readers to a better understanding of how every batch of beer is affected by recipe formulation, brewhouse procedures, yeasts, fermentations, carbonation, filtration, packaging, and much more. Readers will learn to identify the scents, colors, flavors, and mouth-feel of all the major beer styles. There are also chapters on proper serving and storage conditions, and classic beer and food pairings. For each style, Mosher includes historical and regional facts, taste and aroma characteristics, seasonal availability, food pairings, and a few terrific recommendations for readers to sample.

Reviews everything that matters, from site selection and branding to regulatory requirements, flooring choices and equipment considerations. Adeptly covers ingredients, financing, business plans, quality assurance, distribution, wastewater, sustainability practices and more, for prospective brewpub and packaging brewery owners alike.

Latest edition on reserve in Nestle Library.

Provides the essential information for those who are involved or interested in the brewing industry. It recounts how the industry has transformed both commercially and technically and how many companies have been subsumed into large multinationals while at the other extreme, microbreweries have flourished in many parts of the world. It also explains how massive improvements in computer power and automation have modernized the brewhouse while developments in biotechnology have steadily improved brewing efficiency, beer quality, and shelf life. It includes the many factors to be considered in setting up and operating a microbrewery.

This definitive study uses theory, history, and data to analyze the evolution of the US brewing industry from a fragmented market to an emerging oligopoly. Drawing on a rich and extensive data set and applying the theoretical tools of industrial organization, game theory, and management strategy, the authors provide new quantitative and qualitative perspectives on an industry they characterize as "a veritable market laboratory. This 25-year study of the brewing industry, will be a valuable resource for industry analysts, economists, and students of industrial organization.