US and Local Industy/Market Financial Reports
- BizMiner
BizMiner offers granular industry statistical reports that provide industry financial analysis benchmarks for more than 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Micro Firm Profit-Loss Reports cover sole proprietorships and start-ups which is ideal for those writing business plans and looking to benchmark financials
Private Company Financial Data
If the company is private, little or no specific financial information beyond sales figures may be available about the company. Try to find articles via Factiva or NexisUni. Both contain thousands of full-text newspapers and business periodicals; you may be able to locate articles which quote company officials discussing the firm's finances.
Also, consider using ratio books. They will allow you to create your financials using industry averages. Several Cornell libraries have the print copies of these recommended books:
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (by CCH) -- Management Library, Ready Reference, HF 5681 R25 T861
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (by Dun and Bradstreet) -- Management Library, Ready Reference, HF 5681 R25 D89
- Annual Statement Studies (by RMA) -- Management Library, Ready Reference, HF 5681 B2 R63
- E-Statement Studies is the online version of the Annual Statement Studies.
Understanding Financial Statements
Are you just starting to become familiar with the term "balance sheet"? If yes, you might want to read Merril Lynch's excellent "Understanding Financial Reports."
Public Company Financial Data
Public companies are required to file detailed reports of financial activity. In the US, these filings are available directly from the SEC (the Securities and Exchange Commission), or via the selected databases listed below.
- Mergent Online
Covers over 10,000 US public companies and includes their SEC filings with valuable financial information. Some international company coverage is also included. Access to current and historical annual reports for US and international public companies. Also provides peer group comparisons and "as-reported" financial statements.
- Capital IQCapital IQ is a major financial platform used to find data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies.
- OrbisNOTE: The library's subscription to Orbis will end permanently on June 30, 2025. Orbis provides access to company information and financial data for more than 275 million companies worldwide. Users can screen for companies based on geography, financial performance, industry, deals, ownership structure, number of employees, year of incorporation, and other criteria. Orbis is an excellent source for private company information, especially in international markets.