Reference Databases
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas. Subject categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social sciences.
- Oxford African American Studies Center Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities.
- Gale Literature Resource Center A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism Provides an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers. Each entry also contains a biographical/critical introduction including pseudonyms and nationality, a listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Provides access to biographical essays focusing on all genres and time periods of American and British literature and selected other literatures. Essays discuss the lives and careers of authors and summarize critical responses to their work.
- Contemporary Authors Online Provides an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers. Each entry also contains a biographical/critical introduction including pseudonyms and nationality, a listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
- Black Studies Center Black Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, and Black literature index. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
Selected Subject Encyclopedias
Contemporary Black Biography
Profiles from the international Black community.
Call Number: Africana Library Reference DT18 .C76
Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors Since 1950 by
Most of the authors and writings covered in Gale's Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors over the Past 200 Years (1992) and its one-volume supplement (1998) were published prior to 1950, hence this new set of three volumes focusing on African-American (and some African and Caribbean) writers and works published since 1950.
Call Number: Africana Library Reference PS153.N5 B556 2008Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture by
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. The field of African Diaspora studies is rapidly growing. Until now there was no single, authoritative source for information on this broad, complex discipline. Drawing on the work of over 300 scholars, this encyclopedia fills that void. Now the researcher, from high school level up, can go to a single reference for information on the historical, political, economic, and cultural relations between people of African descent and the rest of the world community. Five hundred years of relocation and dislocation, of assimilation and separation have produced a rich tapestry of history and culture into which are woven people, places, and events. This authoritative, accessible work picks out the strands of the tapestry, telling the story of diverse peoples, separated by time and distance, but retaining a commonality of origin and experience. Organized in A-Z sections covering global topics, country of origin, and destination country, the work is designed for easy use by all. More than 500 A-Z entries Contributions from hundreds of leading scholars Maps showing key locations in the African Diaspora
Call Number: Africana Library Reference DT16.5 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781851097005Publication Date: 2008-07-29
