Specialized Arts & Humanities Databases
- Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- ARTbibliographies modernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year.
- International Bibliography of ArtCitations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
- Humanities International IndexIndexes articles and books across the arts and humanities disciplines from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. HII also provides citations for original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Many links to full text.
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- Art RetrospectiveArt Index Retrospective is available on WilsonWeb, CD-ROM, and magnetic tape and provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Searching Articles and Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Try focused searching by looking in individual, subject-specific databases. The database list is browsable by title and subject area.
Database Indexes and Full Text
Periodical indexes (in databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs. Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.
If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another database. If that doesn't work, take down the full article citation. Then, go back to the catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.
For more precise searching, search databases individually. Browse the list of specialized indexes in the Art and Architecture or World Regions and Diasporas sections of the Databases search.
Article Databases & Indexes
Full-text Collections
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.
Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.
Goldmine
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalSearchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Philosophy Resources
- Philosopher's IndexProvides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: PhilosophyPart of Oxford Scholarship Online, the subject area Philosophy provides cross-searchable, fully-indexed access to the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the area of philosophy. Includes coverage of: aesthetics, ancient philosophy, feminist philosophy, general, history of philosophy, logic / philosophy of mathematics, metaphysics / epistemology, moral philosophy, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy.
- PhilPapers"PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy."