ARTH 2750: The Afterlife of the Roman Landscape (Fall 2024)

Other Titles: Ithaca Daily Journal (1872-1913); Ithaca Journal-News (1919-1933)
Online indexing and full text:

• Available as a single online title from ProQuest (08/09/1999 to date).
• Available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Collection, 1914-2013.
• Available in NYS Historical Newspapers (07/03/1872 to 12/31/1900). Also in this database: earlier IJ titles and 19th-century Ithaca newspapers starting in 1819.

Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 882 (1872 to October 2023).

Also known as the Ithaca New Times (1972-1978)
Online indexing and full text:
On the issuu.com platform. [https://issuu.com/ithacatimes] Coverage: February 26, 2014 to date.
You can use the Ithaca Times News Archive: Advanced Search for articles from January 27, 2000 to date.
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 4383 (1972 to 2022)

Independent student news source for Ithaca College.
PDF archive of past print issues from August 29, 2013 to date.

The print holdings are incomplete. A list of Ithaca Journal print issues owned by the library is available through the library catalog.
The 1903 index is available in Hathi Trust. It includes cause of deaths in that year, including the deaths from the typhoid epidemic.

Other Titles: Weekly Ithacan and Dryden News (1875 - 1889, 1906 - 1918). Our holdings for these time periods are incomplete. A list of Weekly Ithacan issues owned by the library is available in the catalog record. Newspaper supported the New York Prohibition Party; Green Clay Smith for president.
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 6011

Full text of previous issues available online via Cornell Chronicle on eCommons (1969 to 1996) and Cornell Chronicle Web site (1996 to date).
Online only since 2009; ceased print publication in May 2009.
Microfilm access:
Library Annex Film 3126 (1969 - 2009)

Print index covering 1989/1990 - 1997/1998
Notes: Cornell-related articles from these four local newspapers: Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times. "We do not include opinion articles (e.g. editorials, letters), reports about entertainment events (e.g. sports coverage), or short announcements of lectures or meetings." -- from the Introductory page in this index

Searchable FileMaker database covering 1999 - 2002.
Located in Olin Library's Electronic Text Center on the ETC10 computer. ETC10 is located in B12 Olin Library, next to the Map Collection entrance. Nearly 10,000 entries. Open this FileMaker database using the shortcuts folder on the desktop.
Notes: Cornell-related articles from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times.

Clippings folders covering circa 1940 to 1989. Print newspaper clippings are filed in folders by subject.
A list of the subject folders is available in the Guide to the Cornell Clippings File, 1940-1989.
Notes: Cornell-related articles from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times. Names of individual persons are not subjects.

Notes:
Print publication frequency changed from daily, Monday through Friday, to Monday/Tuesday/Thursday: "The Sun publishes a print edition on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday during the academic year..." October 2, 2015 masthead.
Online indexing and full text:
On the issuu.com platform
Coverage:
"entire issue hi res" from September 9, 2015 to date (https://issuu.com/cornellsun/18)
"entire issue lo res" from July 18, 2013 to September 8, 2015 (https://issuu.com/cornellsun/26)
Mainly first page access only with occasional entire issue access previous to July 18, 2013
Earlier coverage:
The Sun and the Library are collaborating on a project to digitize the Cornell Daily Sun from 1880 through 2000 called the Keith R. Johnson '56 Archive.
Coverage: September 1880 to May 1986 (incomplete after May 1974). Browse the Dates list to see which years are currently digitized.
Microfilm access:
Library Annex Film 1106 (1880-Oct. 1943, Oct. 1946-May 10, 2022)
Print indexing:
For subject indexing from circa 1940 through 2002, see the ClipFile/Clippings entries above.
The print holdings are incomplete. A list of Cornell Sun print issues owned by the library is available through the library catalog.

"Conservative, contrarian, anti-establishment."
A list of the print issues owned by the library is available in the library catalog. Print holdings are incomplete.