The Big Guns
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. This is an extremely well-respected and authoritative series of books. Online access allows you to download individual articles by major scholars in the field.
Here are just a few of the relevant topics you'll find there:
- American History (American Foreign Relations, History of Law, History of the Native Peoples of the Americas, History of Religions, Economic History)
- Political & Social Theory (18th-cent. & 19th-cent. political thought)
- Literary Studies (African American Literature, History of American Literature, American Women's Literature, English Literature)
- General History (World History of Food, Human Disease)
- Theatre & Performing Arts (History of American Theatre)
- Music (History of American Music, History of 19th-century Music)
Article Databases & Indexes
Use art-focused databases to try more targeted, deeper searching.
For more precise searching, search databases individually. From the list of databses, browse the list of specialized indexes in Art and Architecture. Periodical indexes (in databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.
Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles. If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another database. If that doesn't work, note the full article citation. Then, go back to the catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.