Selected Reference Books
- Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Crisis, 1910-1960Call Number: Africana Library Reference E185.5.C931 R7 v.1-3Publication Date: 1975A selective index designed for users interested in locating the important items dealing with social change and reform.
- Antebellum Black Newspapers: Indices to New York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841)Call Number: Africana Library Reference E185.5 .J17Indexes the New York Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Rights of All(1829), The Weekly Advocate(1837), and The Colored American(1837-1841).
- Black Index: Afro-Americana in Selected Periodicals, 1907- 1949 byCall Number: Africana Library Reference Z1361.N39 N55Articles relevant "to study of the Afro-American experience." Some little-known magazines and state historical publications indexed.
- Black Newspapers IndexCall Number: Africana Library Reference AI3 .I365 (1987-2008)Publication Date: Africana Library ReferenceProvides abstracts and indexing of all significant articles in the Afro-American, Muslim Journal, New York Amsterdam News, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call & Post, Norfolk Journal & Guide, Los Angeles Sentinel, and Michigan Chronicle.
- Index to Black PeriodicalsCall Number: Africana Library Reference Z1361.N39 I38 (1984-1998)Indexes magazines and journals by authors and subjects. Covers all aspects of the African-American experience. Reviews included.
- Index to Periodicals Articles By and About BlacksCall Number: Africana Library Reference Z1361.N39 I38 (1984-1998)Indexes magazines and journals by authors and subjects. Covers all aspects of the African-American experience. Reviews included.
- Index to Periodical Articles by and About NegroesCall Number: Africana Library Reference Z1361.N39 I38 (1950/1959-1969, 1971-1972)Indexes magazines and journals by authors and subjects. Covers all aspects of the African-American experience. Reviews included.
- The Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986 byCall Number: Africana Library Reference Z1361.N39 K34x 1992 (v.1-5)This index has approximately 174,000 citations to the periodical literature on the African-American experience compiled by librarians at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of The New York Public Library. More than 150 periodicals are represented, including not only the standard Black periodical literature, but also obscure newspapers and chapters in books, newsletters, college bulletins, ephemeral publications, African and Caribbean periodicals, and any other source deemed useful to researchers (e.g. The New York times).