Course Syllabus
- Course SyllabusAfrica is not only a continent; it is a geopolitical imaginary inscribed through writing. This
course equips students with the analytical tools needed to identify and critique reductionist
narratives and stereotypes about Africa. Students are exposed to a range of texts including
novels, media sources, essays, and academic articles that highlight different representations of
Africa across space and time and have shaped the continent’s sociopolitical material realities. It
provides an interdisciplinary approach to examining Africa’s rich internal diversity and
complexity, its indigenous institutions and political life, its role in historical change, and its
linkages to the diaspora and beyond. By the end of the course, students will be equipped with the
intellectual sensitivities needed to critically engage in key debates in African studies without
reinforcing “the dangers of a single story”.
ASRC 1859 Recommended Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are great for choosing a topic; educating yourself quickly; perspective on a topic; variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology; and bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: DT3 .E53 2010ISBN: 9780195337709Publication Date: 2010-02-17The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearlytwo-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship.Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groupsfrom various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterComprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
ASRC 1859 Recommended Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by ISBN: 0028659872Publication Date: 2004-08-01"Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government."--'About this e-book' page.
- Encyclopedia of Race and RacismExamines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
- Handbook of African American Literature"An A to Z compilation of 415 literary terms, ages, movements, periods, and cultural sources, all cross-referenced....Definitions provide substantive discussion and cite specific examples from the works of major critics and major and minor writers from the 1700s to the present... Eight full-length essays, which serve as introductions to important aspects of literary theory and criticism, cover major terms... In addition to discussions of the Harlem Renaissance and the Black Arts Movement, the book describes the Chicago Renaissance of the 1930s to 1950s, the New Renaissance of the 1950s, and the new black aesthetics of the 1980s..[also includes]a literary timeline, divided into sections for African, African American, and Anglophone Caribbean literature that illustrates what was written during the same years in different parts of the world. The book also lists awards and honors given to African American authors." (publisher)
- Oxford Bibliographies-African American StudiesOffers regularly updated bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics