Language Maps (online)
- MLA Language Map: A Map of Languages in the United StatesBy manipulating the reliable statistics gathered in the 2000 US Census, the creators of this site were able to extract language and linguistics data. For students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the US, the site provides color-coded maps of 33 language groups in the nation, by county or by ZIP code. View the map, or create your own detailed tables. See also: How to use the MLA Language Map.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World(19th edition, online)
A comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Entries represent separate languages or probable languages (highly divergent "dialects") according to their best sources. Each entry lists number of speakers, alternate names, language family, where spoken, religion of speakers, etc. Search by virtually any variation of language name or dialect.
Cornell's subscription gives Cornell users unlimited access to the site's language and country data pages.
Use the search box on the main page:
Please ignore the visible prompts for login or registration, and the advertisements. The user interface provided by this database is misleading -- you DO have access!
Print sources in the Olin Library reference collection
Find these reference books in the Olin Library Reference Collection, on the first floor. They do not circulate, so will always be available for you to consult.
Dictionary of Languages, ed. by Call Number: Olin Library Reference P29 .D35x 1998ISBN: 0231115687Authoritative guide to the world's languages and language groups at the end of the twentieth century, for the general reader. Includes statistics and related social, cultural, geographic, and historical details for 400+ languages and language groups. Many language maps and charts; index and references.
Encyclopedia of Language and LinguisticsCall Number: Olin Lilbrary ReferenceISBN: 0080359434Reviews current knowledge in the fields of linguistics and language studies. Ten volumes, indexes, etc.
Ethnologue by Call Number: Olin Library Reference P371 .E83 2005 +ISBN: 155671159XPublication Date: 2004 (15th edition)Longstanding research project; catalogs all languages known to be in use in the world today. Includes indexes; color language maps; statistical summaries. CUL has online access to the current (19th) edition.
Facts about the World's LanguagesCall Number: Olin Library Reference P371 .F33x 2001 +ISBN: 0824209702The volume explores the structure, history and culture of 191 languages worldwide.
