Why use academic subject and thematic encyclopedias?
The academic subject encyclopedias and handbooks listed here are useful for:
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickly
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- identifying good sources and building bibliography
They are edited, curated sources of authoritative information.
Wikipedia can also be a good launch-pad for your research, providing background and suggesting sources. Be sure to actively fact check: compare your facts (especially facts from any wiki-based source) with other sources.
Social movements across Latin America (online handbook)
Handbook of Social Movements Across Latin AmericaCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9789401799126Publication Date: 2015Covers contemporary social movement activities in Latin American countries, including: renewed upswing in popular mobilization, the ending of violent conflicts The contributors each address social movement activity in their own nation and together they present a multidisciplinary perspective on the topic. Each chapter uses a case study design to bring out the most prominent attributes of the particular social struggle(s). Seven additional thematic sections: 1) theory of Latin American social movements; 2) neoliberalism; 3) indigenous struggles; 4) women's movements; 5) movements and the State; 6) environmental movements; and 7) transnational mobilizations.
Use the "search within this book" feature:
Subject encyclopedias
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements, ed. David A. Snow and others. (Wiley-Blackwell, Online.
Tip: Here's how to search only this title in the Wiley-Blackwell multi-title platform:
1. Click on "Search in this book."
2. Use the "Reference Works Advanced Search" and consult "tips" as needed.
The Cambridge History of Latin America,ed. by Call Number: Online.ISBN: 9780521465564Part 2: Politics and Society (online) examines the military in Latin American politics; democracy; the Left; labour movements and the urban working class; rural mobilisation and violence. It also takes a look at the role of women in twentieth-century Latin American economy, society, and politics. The volume finishes with a discussion of the actions and importance of the Catholic and Protestant churches.
Encyclopedia of Latin American PoliticsCall Number: Olin Library Reference F1410 .E56x 2002 +ISBN: 1573563064Introductory encyclopedia with country-by-country overviews.
Latinoamericana enciclopedia contemporánea de América Latina y el CaribeCall Number: Olin Library Reference F1406 .L3618 2009 +ISBN: 9788446030607Ask for help locating this book in the non-circulating reference collection on the first floor of Olin Library.
