Reference Sources
Reference books are located in the Asia Reading Room and can't be checked out.
Books in the Kroch Asia book stacks can be checked out. There are two stack levels: Level 1, on the main floor (oversize books, with a "+" in the call number); and 1B, downstairs (regular size books).
-
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
by
.. Comprehensive coverage, over 400 cross-referenced entries, of major historical figures, events, political terms, foreign affairs, culture and other matters relevant to this period of modern Chinese history...in the 1960s and 1970's. The book has a chronology, an introductory essay, glossary, and an extensive bibliography arranged by subject, including online sources.
Call Number: REF DS 778.7 G86 2015Publication Date: 2015 (Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield) -
Encyclopedia of Modern China
by
Call Number: REF DS 755 E63 2009+Publication Date: 2009 (Farmington Hills, MI : Charles Scribner's Sons/Gale Cengage Learning)4 volumes. See entries on Cultural Revolution, Mao Zedong, Red Guards. Each article has bibliography of sources. -
Brill's Encyclopedia of China
by
it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines.With illustrations, maps, tables, ample indices and bibliographies.
Call Number: REF DS 755 B86 2009+Publication Date: 2008 (Leiden ; Boston : Brill) -
The Cultural Revolution: A Bibliography 1966-1996
by
Organized in 14 chapters, including Mao Zedong and the Cultural Revolution, The Red Guard and the Urban Youth Rustication, Economics, Education, Science & Arts, Foreign Policy, Literary Works. Entries are in Chinese, Japanese, and English language sections in each chapter.
Call Number: REF Z3108.A5 S86x 1998 +Publication Date: 1998 (Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard-Yenching Library, Harvard University) -
Chinese Economic Statistics in the Maoist Era
by
For statistics buffs. "An exhaustive compilation of national and provincial statistics on mainland China from 1949 to 1959, this book covers every facet of the Communist Chinese economy and presents the most comprehensive coverage available of statistical data on China from this period. Based on data obtained directly from Chinese sources..."
Call Number: REF HA 4635 .C424 2009 +Publication Date: 2009 (New Brunswick [N.J.] : AldineTransaction)
Asia Information & Reference
Carole Atkinson
Contact:
Kroch Library 180
CornellUniversity
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Phone: 607-255-8199
asiaref@cornell.edu
CornellUniversity
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Phone: 607-255-8199
asiaref@cornell.edu
Books (Asia bookstacks)
In Kroch Library book stacks, see call number section DS 778.7 for Cultural Revolution materials. Level 1 has oversize books (+ in the call number); downstairs level 1B has regular size books
-
Red-Color News Soldier: a Chinese Photographer's Odyssey Through the Cultural Revolution
by
Li Zhensheng, a photo journalist living in the northern Chinese province of Heilongjiang - managed, at great personal risk, to hide and preserve for decades over 20,000 stills. As a party-approved photographer for The Heilongjiang Daily , he had been granted unusual access to capture events during the Cultural Revolution. [The book] includes over 400 photographs and a running diary of Li's experience.
Call Number: DS 778.7 L52 2003 +Publication Date: 2003 ( London ; New York : Phaidon) -
The Battle for China's Past: Mao and the Cultural Revolution
by
This book tackles the extremely negative depiction of China under Mao in recent publications and argues most people in China, including the rural poor and the urban working class, actually benefited from Mao's policy of a comprehensive welfare system for the urban and basic health and education provision for the rural, which is being reversed in the current rush towards capitalism.By a critical analysis of the mainstream account of the Mao era and the Cultural Revolution and by revealing what is offered in the unofficial e-media debates this book sets the record straight, making a convincing argument for the positive effects of Mao's policies on the well-being of the Chinese people.
Call Number: DS778.7 .G34 2008Publication Date: 2008 ( London ; Ann Arbor, MI : Pluto Press) -
Mao Cult: Rhetoric and Ritual in China's Cultural Revolution
by
By analyzing previously secret archival documents, obscure objects, and political pamphlets, Daniel Leese traces the tumultuous history of the [Mao] cult within the Communist Party and at the grassroots level. ...... Such fascinating detail sheds light not only on the personality cult of Mao, but also on hero-worship in other traditions
Call Number: DS778.7 L44 2011Publication Date: 2011 (Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press) -
Ten Years of Turbulence: The Chinese Cultural Revolution
by
This study examines the unfolding of the cultural revolution over a period of ten years, analyzing the ideological origins and political causes, and focusing on Mao Zedong as the principal instigator of this political movement.
Call Number: DS778.7 .B37x 1993Publication Date: 1993 ( London ; New York : Kegan Paul International : Distributed by Routledge, Chapman & Hall Inc) -
Heaven Cracks, Earth Shakes: the Tangshan Earthquake and the Death of Mao's China
by
When an earthquake of historic magnitude leveled the industrial city of Tangshan in the summer of 1976, killing more than a half-million people, China was already gripped by widespread social unrest. As Mao lay on his deathbed, the public mourned the death of popular premier Zhou Enlai. Anger toward the powerful Communist Party officials in the Gang of Four, which had tried to suppress grieving for Zhou, was already potent; when the government failed to respond swiftly to the Tangshan disaster, popular resistance to the Cultural Revolution reached a boiling point.
Call Number: DS778.7 .P35 2012Publication Date: 2012 (V New York : Basic Books) -
China 1966-1976, Cultural Revolution Revisited: Can It Happen Again?
by
Did Mao Zedong make a capital mistake in launching of the Cultural Revolution? Perhaps, yes because he lost the love from ordinary Chinese people; perhaps no because his heritage gave the room for Deng Xiaoping’s reform. Was the Cultural Revolution successful? Perhaps, yes because Mao Zedong was still holding power during the Cultural Revolution; perhaps no because the Cultural Revolution has become an icon of chaos and lawlessness. In 1993 Guang Wu was a post-doc student in Japan, decided to to study the Cultural Revolution and expresses his point of views and conclusions.
Call Number: DS 778.7 W725 2011Publication Date: 2012 ( New York : Novinka/Nova Science Publishers)
Mao Zedong
See call number section DS 778 M29 and DS 778 M3 for books on Mao Zedong in the Asia book stacks, on both levels.
-
Mao Tse-Tung: A Critical Biography
by
Call Number: DS 778 M29 U28Publication Date: 1975 (New York, New Viewpoints) -
Quotations from Chairman Mao Tsetung byCall Number: DS778.M29 A3 1972aPublication Date: 1972 (Peking, Foreign Languages Press)The "little red book" of Mao's quotations. Library has various editions. Also online; see library catalog. Click on "vol.1" at the bottom of the online link.
-
Inside Mao Tse-Tung's Thought: An Analytical Blueprint of His Actions
by
Translated from Chinese. Organized into chapters dealing with different topics: Chinese Society, Chinese Revolution, the People and the Masses, the Peasant Problem, the Military, Establishment of the Communist Party and more.
Call Number: DS778.M29 J38 1975Publication Date: 1975 (Hicksville, N.Y. : Exposition Press -
A Critical Introduction to Mao
by
Mao Zedong's political career spanned more than half a century. The ideas he championed transformed one of the largest nations on earth and inspired revolutionary movements across the world. Even today Mao lives on in China, where he is regarded by many as a near-mythical figure, and in the West, where a burgeoning literature continues to debate his memory. In this book, leading scholars from different generations and around the world offer a critical evaluation of the life and legacy of China's most famous - some would say infamous - son. The book brings the scholarship on Mao up to date, and its alternative perspectives equip readers to assess for themselves the nature of this mercurial figure and his significance in modern Chinese history.
Call Number: DS778.M3 C74 2010Publication Date: 2010 ( New York : Cambridge University Press) -
Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography
by
Online also. "In 135 entries, written by leading China scholars, the Dictionary takes the reader from the important figures of ancient China to Communist leaders Mao Zedong and Deng Xiaoping." Organized chronologically; Mao Zedong,and Zhou Enlai are in vol. 3. 1644-1979.
Call Number: REF DS 734 B47 2014 (in Asia reading room)Publication Date: 2014 (Great Barrington, Mass. : Berkshire)
