LibGuides: HIST 1431 (FWS): Mao, China, and the World: Databases and Articles

Databases and Articles

The library catalog has an extensive number of databases, organized by subject. They are an excellent way to find articles, book chapters in edited books, conference proceedings, and other documents in a particular field of study. Go to the Databases link on the library catalog home page. History databases are in the Arts and Humanities section.

The research guide China Collection Databases is a list of databases specific to China.. It includes The Cambridge History of China, vols 14 and 15 (full text online) which cover the Cultural Revolution period.

When searching databases, try alternate spellings and terms: Mao Tse-Tung, Chairman Mao, Mao Zedong [later term]; or just Mao.; Also Cultural Revolution. Filters in database searches can usually be applied in order to limit years and topics.

Zhongguo wen hua da ge ming wen ku (Chinese Cultural Revolution Database)
Database of approximately 10,000 primary sources from the Chinese Cultural Revolution. Click on the "New Titles" plus sign (+) under the top left heading, Chinese Cultural Revolution Database, to open the list of topics. Click on a topic to see list of individual documents. Titles are in English but documents are mostly in Chinese. For the other 3 modules, Cornell is not subscribed; the list of titles of documents can be seen but not opened.
Database is also on CD-ROM, in Asia stacks DS 778.7 Z566 2002 but online version may be more current. An Index volume is in Asia reading room, REF DS 778.7 Z566 2002. (entries in English are in the 2nd half of book).
U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991
declassified documentary records [including secret/top secret] about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). Particular emphasis is given to America's principal antagonists in Asia during the Cold War era: the People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Open "Search 0 of 20 databases" drop-down menu; de-select all (if all are selected already); scroll down to FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1974. Also could add FBIS CHI China 1974-1996 (Mao died in 1976).
Bibliography of Asian Studies (B.A.S.)
No full text. Chiefly scholarly articles and book chapters, including many journals not indexed elsewhere. Covers primarily humanities and social sciences from 1977-present. Primarily English language..
**Note: Just above the search boxes, the "Choose Databases" option allows you to add more databases to search, expanding the results possibilities and access to full-text articles. For example, add Academic Search Premier.
Cambridge Histories
Use the "Search all journal & book content" at top. Results include full-text online ("HTML" link) and pay/permission item. Full text items have a green Access link, others have a blue Get Access link, in which case, look up the journal (or book) title on our library home page. Most journals are probably accessible online. Cambridge History of China volumes are included in this database but you can also search those separately using the link above.
China Academic Journals (CAJ)
Choose China Academic Journals. The "quick search" feature is is a general search; "basic search" allows for field search (drop down menu), 'scholar search" means the authors of articles. On the left of the page, the subjects checked off are the sections Cornell subscribes to. Green arrows indicate full text. Use PDF Download. If article doesn't display very well, try a different browser.
The Journal Navigation tab at top allows for searching a particular journal title or to see all the subjects and how many journals in each one.
Academic Search Premier
Includes more than 8,500 multi-disciplinary journals.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
You can limit results by years, subject, journals or books (chapters from books), or online only.
Articles & Full Text
This is a link on the library catalog home page. It leads to a screen with a single search box where you can put in your terms. . But you can use the limits on the left to narrow your choices.
Google Scholar
Use instead of Google. There are links to full-text online articles, including Cornell's holdings.
People's Daily (Ren min ri bao tu wen shu ju ku)
In Chinese. Full text newspaper dating back to 1946. Find by doing a title search in library catalog for the Chinese title: "Ren min ri bao tu wen shu ju ku" or by going to Databases--Newspapers in the China section of Asia Collections web page.