Libraries at Cornell
We offer an outstanding library collection in agriculture, life sciences and applied social sciences. We also offer a knowledgeable team of experts who can help you with your research for projects of any size or scope, whether a short paper, a thesis, or a major research project involving thousands of citations and reams of data. The staff at Mann work hard to offer you a highly effective experience using any of our collections, spaces, technologies, or services. Our website will help guide you to the many ways Mann Library can help you do your work—for example, you can now book a consultation with a librarian directly from our website.
- Meet with our experts – they are here to help!
We are pleased to invite you to use the range of services and resources offered by the Management Library. Our dedicated team is “proud to be your research partner”. We support Johnson, Cornell Tech, the Cornell SC Johnson College of Business, and the greater business research community at Cornell.
Whether you're looking for information for a course assignment, preparing for an interview, or creating a pitch for a new venture, our award-winning staff have the expertise to connect you with the best data and analysis. Contact us to learn how to use our top industry and corporate tools (such as Bloomberg and Capital IQ) and develop research strategies for market, industry, and financial research.
The Catherwood Library is a service-oriented organization, offering expert research support through reference services, instruction, online guides, and access to premier collections. The collection consists of 250,000 volumes and 1500 serial subscriptions along with essential academic and practitioner databases and special format materials such as media and microforms. ILR collection strengths are in the areas of labor and employment, including collective bargaining, human resource studies, international and comparative industrial relations, labor disputes and history, labor economics, organizational behavior, and trade union issues. While many of these resources are academic in origin, Catherwood also collects directly from unions, corporations, governments, and non-profit organizations. Additionally, we are an International Labour Organization (ILO) Partner Library. See the Industrial and Labor Relations Collection for more information.
Further Reading
How to Win Friends and Influence People by
You can go after the job you want--and get it You can take the job you have--and improve it You can take any situation--and make it work for you Dale Carnegie's rock-solid, time-tested advice has carried countless people up the ladder of success in their business and personal lives. One of the most groundbreaking and timeless bestsellers of all time, How to Win Friends & Influence People will teach you: -Six ways to make people like you -Twelve ways to win people to your way of thinking -Nine ways to change people without arousing resentment And much more Achieve your maximum potential--a must-read for the twenty-first century with more than 15 million copies sold
ISBN: 9781439199190Publication Date: 2010-04-27
Me 2.0 by
The handbook for surviving and thriving in the digital age. Highlights include: -An effective 4-step process for discovering, creating, communicating, and maintaining a personal brand. -Expert insight into how blogs, podcasting, and social networks can position individuals to find careers based on their passion and experience. - A complementary website (www.personalbrandingbook.com) with helpful templates for each tool in the personal branding kit (i.e. resume, portfolio, etc.). -Proven advice on branding from leading industry experts. -Tips on using social media tools for personal empowerment, confidence building, and professional networking in order to attract jobs directly, without having to perform tedious job searches. -Strategies for creating an online and offline presence for career protection and self- promotion.
ISBN: 9781427798206Publication Date: 2009-03-31
Where Have I Gone Right by
"A book that first captures the heart and then goes on to snare the mind. The lessons go down easy, but they refuse to go away....If there is an unclimbed Mount Everest in your life, I highly recommend this book. It will first help you decide if you're on the right mountain; and then it will guide you to the top." -H. John Greeniaus, Former President & CEO, Nabisco, Inc. Looking for a job? Changing careers? Returning to the workforce? Trying to find balance? Rethinking your lifestyle? Searching for fulfillment? When you come to an important crossroads in life-particularly when it is forced upon you by an unexpected or unhappy event-it is human nature to ask, "Where have I gone wrong?" That is not the right question to ask. As a matter of fact, such brooding and negative thinking will take you entirely in the wrong direction, away from where you really want to go. The better question to ask-the question that opens doors, creates opportunities and helps take you where you want to go-is: "Where Have I Gone Right?" In Where Have I Gone Right? The Right Mountain Guide to Getting the Job and Life You Want, Jim Hayhurst offers his simple, unique approach to making key decisions and living a more satisfying life. His engaging, conversational writing, compelling metaphors and anecdotes from his years as a career counselor and business leader make this simple and practical guidebook the new standard for managing your career - and your life.
ISBN: 0470833548Publication Date: 2004-01-12
Extreme Ownership by
An updated edition of the blockbuster bestselling leadership book that took America and the world by storm, two U.S. Navy SEAL officers who led the most highly decorated special operations unit of the Iraq War demonstrate how to apply powerful leadership principles from the battlefield to business and life. Combat, the most intense and dynamic environment imaginable, teaches the toughest leadership lessons, with absolutely everything at stake. Jocko Willink and Leif Babin learned this reality first-hand on the most violent and dangerous battlefield in Iraq. As leaders of SEAL Team Three's Task Unit Bruiser, their mission was one many thought impossible: help U.S. forces secure Ramadi, a violent, insurgent-held city deemed "all but lost." In gripping, firsthand accounts of heroism, tragic loss, and hard-won victories, they learned that leadership--at every level--is the most important factor in whether a team succeeds or fails. Willink and Babin returned home from deployment and instituted SEAL leadership training to pass on their harsh lessons learned in combat to help forge the next generation of SEAL leaders. After leaving the SEAL Teams, they launched a company, Echelon Front, to teach those same leadership principles to leaders in businesses, companies, and organizations across the civilian sector. Since that time, they have trained countless leaders and worked with hundreds of companies in virtually every industry across the U.S. and internationally, teaching them how to develop their own high-performance teams and most effectively lead those teams to dominate their battlefields. Since it's release in October 2015,Extreme Ownershiphas revolutionized leadership development and set a new standard for literature on the subject. Required reading for many of the most successful organizations, it has become an integral part of the official leadership training programs for scores of business teams, military units, and first responders. Detailing the mindset and principles that enable SEAL units to accomplish the most difficult combat missions,Extreme Ownership demonstrates how to apply them to any team or organization, in any leadership environment. A compelling narrative with powerful instruction and direct application,Extreme Ownership challenges leaders everywhere to fulfill their ultimate purpose: lead and win.
ISBN: 9781250183866Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Never Eat Alone by
Do you want to get ahead in life? Climb the ladder to personal success? The secret, master networker Keith Ferrazzi claims, is in reaching out to other people. As Ferrazzi discovered early in life, what distinguishes highly successful people from everyone else is the way they use the power of relationships—so that everyone wins. In Never Eat Alone, Ferrazzi lays out the specific steps—and inner mindset—he uses to reach out to connect with the thousands of colleagues, friends, and associates on his Rolodex, people he has helped and who have helped him. The son of a small-town steelworker and a cleaning lady, Ferrazzi first used his remarkable ability to connect with others to pave the way to a scholarship at Yale, a Harvard MBA, and several top executive posts. Not yet out of his thirties, he developed a network of relationships that stretched from Washington’s corridors of power to Hollywood’s A-list, leading to him being named one of Crain’s 40 Under 40 and selected as a Global Leader for Tomorrow by the Davos World Economic Forum. Ferrazzi's form of connecting to the world around him is based on generosity, helping friends connect with other friends. Ferrazzi distinguishes genuine relationship-building from the crude, desperate glad-handling usually associated with “networking.” He then distills his system of reaching out to people into practical, proven principles. Among them: Don’t keep score: It’s never simply about getting what you want. It’s about getting what you want and making sure that the people who are important to you get what they want, too. “Ping” constantly: The Ins and Outs of reaching out to those in your circle of contacts all the time—not just when you need something. Never eat alone: The dynamics of status are the same whether you’re working at a corporation or attending a society event— “invisibility” is a fate worse than failure. In the course of the book, Ferrazzi outlines the timeless strategies shared by the world’s most connected individuals, from Katherine Graham to Bill Clinton, Vernon Jordan to the Dalai Lama. Chock full of specific advice on handling rejection, getting past gatekeepers, becoming a “conference commando,” and more, Never Eat Alone is destined to take its place alongside How to Win Friends and Influence People as an inspirational classic.
ISBN: 0385512058Publication Date: 2005-02-22
The 2-Hour Job Search by
A job-search manual that gives career seekers a systematic, tech-savvy formula to efficiently and effectively target potential employers and secure the essential first interview. The 2-Hour Job Search shows job-seekers how to work smarter (and faster) to secure first interviews. Through a prescriptive approach, Dalton explains how to wade through the Internet's sea of information and create a job-search system that relies on mainstream technology such as Excel, Google, LinkedIn, and alumni databases to create a list of target employers, contact them, and then secure an interview--with only two hours of effort. Avoiding vague tips like "leverage your contacts," Dalton tells job-hunters exactly what to do and how to do it. This empowering book focuses on the critical middle phase of the job search and helps readers bring organization to what is all too often an ineffectual and frustrating process.
ISBN: 9781607741701Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Leading the Life You Want by
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller "For nearly thirty years, my life's work has been to help people like you find ways to bring the often warring aspects of life into greater harmony." -- Stew Friedman, from Leading the Life You Want You're busy trying to lead a "full" life. But does it really feel full--or are you stretched too thin? Enter Stew Friedman, Wharton professor, adviser to leaders across the globe, and passionate advocate of replacing the misguided metaphor of "work/life balance" with something more realistic and sustainable. If you're seeking "balance" you'll never achieve it, argues Friedman. The idea that "work" competes with "life" ignores the more nuanced reality of our humanity--the interaction of four domains: work, home, community, and the private self. The goal is to create harmony among them instead of thinking only in terms of trade-offs. It can be done. Building on his national bestseller, Total Leadership, and on decades of research, teaching, and practice as both consultant and senior executive, Friedman identifies the critical skills for integrating work and the rest of life. He illustrates them through compelling original stories of these remarkable people: * former Bain & Company CEO and Bridgespan co-founder Tom Tierney * Facebook COO and bestselling author Sheryl Sandberg * nonprofit leader and US Navy SEAL Eric Greitens * US First Lady Michelle Obama * soccer champion-turned-broadcaster Julie Foudy * renowned artist Bruce Springsteen Each of these admirable (though surely imperfect) people exemplifies a set of skills--for being real, being whole, and being innovative--that produce a sense of purpose, coherence, and optimism. Based on interviews and research, their stories paint a vivid picture of how six very different leaders use these skills to act with authenticity, integrity, and creativity--and they prove that significant public success is accomplished not at the expense of the rest of life, but as the result of meaningful engagement in all its parts. With dozens of practical exercises for strengthening these skills, curated from the latest research in organizational psychology and related fields, this book will inspire you, inform you, and instruct you on how to take realistic steps now toward leading the life you truly want.
ISBN: 9781422189412Publication Date: 2014-10-07
StrengthsFinder 2.0 by
DO YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO DO WHAT YOU DO BEST EVERY DAY? Chances are, you don't. All too often, our natural talents go untapped. From the cradle to the cubicle, we devote more time to fixing our shortcomings than to developing our strengths.To help people uncover their talents, Gallup introduced the first version of its online assessment, StrengthsFinder, in the 2001 management book Now, Discover Your Strengths. The book spent more than five years on bestseller lists and ignited a global conversation, while StrengthsFinder helped millions discover their top five talents. In StrengthsFinder 2.0, Gallup unveils the new and improved version of its popular assessment. While you can read this book in one sitting, you'll use it as a reference for decades. Loaded with hundreds of strategies for applying your strengths, this new book and accompanying website will change the way you look at yourself -- and the world around you -- forever. Available exclusively through the unique access code included in StrengthsFinder 2.0: A new and upgraded edition of the StrengthsFinder assessment, a personalized Strengths Discovery and Action-Planning Guide for applying your strengths in the next week, month and year, 50 Ideas for Action (10 strategies for building on each of your top five themes) and the redesigned StrengthsFinder 2.0 companion website.
ISBN: 9781595620156Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Wellbeing by
In Wellbeing: The Five Essential Elements, bestselling authors team up to share the results of a landmark study of wellbeing and its implications for organizations and individuals. After conducting this extensive study, Rath and Harter discovered that much of what we think will improve our wellbeing is either misguided or just plain wrong. When striving to improve our lives, we're quick to buy into programs that promise to help us make money, lose weight or strengthen our relationships. While it might be easier to treat these critical areas in our lives as if they are independent, they're not. Gallup's comprehensive study of people in more than 150 countries revealed five universal, interconnected elements that shape our lives: Career Wellbeing, Social Wellbeing, Financial Wellbeing, Physical Wellbeing and Community Wellbeing. Wellbeing: The Five Essential Elements provides you with a holistic view of what contributes to your wellbeing over a lifetime. As a complement to the book, you'll have the opportunity to use Gallup's online Wellbeing Finder to track and improve your wellbeing. By the time you finish reading this book, you'll have a better understanding of what makes life worthwhile.
ISBN: 1595620400Publication Date: 2010-05-04
The Way We're Working Isn't Working: The Four Forgotten Needs That Energize Great Performance by ISBN: 9781471158407Publication Date: 2011
The Path to Purpose by
Drawing on the revelatory results of a landmark study, William Damon -- one of the country's leading writers on the lives of young people, whose book Greater Expectations won the Parents' Choice Award -- brilliantly investigates the most pressing issue in the lives of youth today: why so many young people are "failing to launch" -- living at home longer, lacking career motivation, struggling to make a timely transition into adulthood, and not yet finding a life pursuit that inspires them. His groundbreaking study shows that about one-fifth of youth today are thriving -- highly engaged in activities they love and developing a clear sense of what they want to do with their lives -- but approximately one-fourth are still rudderless, at serious risk of never fulfilling their potential. The largest portion are teetering on the brink, in need of guidance to help them move forward: some are "dabblers" who pursue strings of disconnected interests with no real commitment; others, "dreamers" who have no realistic plans or understanding of what success will require. What makes the difference? Damon shows that the key ingredient for the highly engaged is that they have developed a clear sense of purpose in their lives that motivates them and gives them direction. Based on in-depth interviews, he takes readers inside the minds of the disengaged and drifting kids and exposes their confusion and anxiety about what they should do with their lives. He then offers compelling portraits of the young people who are thriving and identifies the nine key factors that have made the difference for them, presenting simple but powerful methods that parents and all adults can and must employ in order to cultivate that energized sense of purpose in young people that will launch them on the path to a deeply satisfying and productive life.
ISBN: 1416537244Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Range by
The #1 New York Times bestseller that has all America talking: as seen/heard on CBS This Morning, The Bill Simmons Podcast, and more. "Urgent and important. . . an essential read for bosses, parents, coaches, and anyone who cares about improving performance." --Daniel H. Pink "So much crucial and revelatory information about performance, success, and education." --Susan Cain, bestselling author of Quiet "As David Epstein shows us, cultivating range prepares us for the wickedly unanticipated... a well-supported and smoothly written case on behalf of breadth and late starts." -Wall Street Journal A powerful argument for how to succeed in any field: develop broad interests and skills while everyone around you is rushing to specialize. Plenty of experts argue that anyone who wants to develop a skill, play an instrument, or lead their field should start early, focus intensely, and rack up as many hours of deliberate practice as possible. If you dabble or delay, you'll never catch up to the people who got a head start. But a closer look at research on the world's top performers, from professional athletes to Nobel laureates, shows that early specialization is the exception, not the rule. David Epstein examined the world's most successful athletes, artists, musicians, inventors, forecasters and scientists. He discovered that in most fields--especially those that are complex and unpredictable--generalists, not specialists, are primed to excel. Generalists often find their path late, and they juggle many interests rather than focusing on one. They're also more creative, more agile, and able to make connections their more specialized peers can't see. Provocative, rigorous, and engrossing, Range makes a compelling case for actively cultivating inefficiency. Failing a test is the best way to learn. Frequent quitters end up with the most fulfilling careers. The most impactful inventors cross domains rather than deepening their knowledge in a single area. As experts silo themselves further while computers master more of the skills once reserved for highly focused humans, people who think broadly and embrace diverse experiences and perspectives will increasingly thrive.
ISBN: 9780735214484Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Books Referenced in Designing Your Life
Emotional Intelligence by
Everyone knows that high IQ is no guarantee of success, happiness or virtue. Goleman's fascinating report from the frontiers of psychology and neuroscience offers us startling new insight into our two minds--the rational and the emotional--and how they together shape our destiny.
ISBN: 055309503XPublication Date: 1995-09-01
Flow by
THE BESTSELLING CLASSIC ON 'FLOW' - THE KEY TO UNLOCKING MEANING, CREATIVITY, PEAK PERFORMANCE, AND TRUE HAPPINESS Legendary psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi's famous investigations of "optimal experience" have revealed that what makes an experience genuinely satisfying is a state of consciousness called flow. During flow, people typically experience deep enjoyment, creativity, and a total involvement with life. In this new edition of his groundbreaking classic work, Csikszentmihalyi ("the leading researcher into 'flow states'" --Newsweek) demonstrates the ways this positive state can be controlled, not just left to chance. Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience teaches how, by ordering the information that enters our consciousness, we can discover true happiness, unlock our potential, and greatly improve the quality of our lives. "Explores a happy state of mind called flow, the feeling of complete engagement in a creative or playful activity." --Time
ISBN: 0061339202Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Finite and Infinite Games by
"There are at least two kinds of games," states James P. Carse as he begins this extraordinary book. "One could be called finite; the other infinite." Finite games are the familiar contests of everyday life; they are played in order to be won, which is when they end. But infinite games are more mysterious. Their object is not winning, but ensuring the continuation of play. The rules may change, the boundaries may change, even the participants may change--as long as the game is never allowed to come to an end. What are infinite games? How do they affect the ways we play our finite games? What are we doing when we play--finitely or infinitely? And how can infinite games affect the ways in which we live our lives? Carse explores these questions with stunning elegance, teasing out of his distinctions a universe of observation and insight, noting where and why and how we play, finitely and infinitely. He surveys our world--from the finite games of the playing field and playing board to the infinite games found in culture and religion--leaving all we think we know illuminated and transformed. Along the way, Carse finds new ways of understanding everything, from how an actress portrays a role to how we engage in sex, from the nature of evil to the nature of science. Finite games, he shows, may offer wealth and status, power and glory, but infinite games offer something far more subtle and far grander. Carse has written a book rich in insight and aphorism. Already an international literary event, Finite and Infinite Games is certain to be argued about and celebrated for years to come. Reading it is the first step in learning to play the infinite game.
ISBN: 1476731713Publication Date: 2013-01-05
Stranger in a Strange Land by
Robert Heinlein's Hugo Award-winning all-time masterpiece, the brilliant novel that grew from a cult favorite to a bestseller to a science fiction classic. Raised by Martians on Mars, Valentine Michael Smith is a human who has never seen another member of his species. Sent to Earth, he is a stranger who must learn what it is to be a man. But his own beliefs and his powers far exceed the limits of humankind, and as he teaches them about grokking and water-sharing, he also inspires a transformation that will alter Earth's inhabitants forever...
ISBN: 0441790348Publication Date: 1987-05-15
